Palazzo and Church of San Callisto (Saint Callixtus)/ Palazzo e Chiesa di S.Callisto

"Palazzo and Church of San Callisto (Saint Callixtus)/ Palazzo e Chiesa di S.Callisto" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

Apart from the old buildings that overlook the square (Piazza) Santa Maria in Trastevere, among which is the monumental 17th century Palazzo San Callisto (1613) belonging to the Holy See in the heart of Trastevere. On the site of palazzo di S.Callisto since the Middle Ages stood a palace erected for the cardinals responsible for the life of basilica of S.Maria in Trastevere and belonging to it. The present palace was built in 1613 in times of Paul V by an architect Orazio Torrigiani for the Benedictian order in compensation of their monastery expropriated by pope for the construction of his Palazzo Pontificio del Quirinale.

Palazzo San Callisto (Saint Callixtus), Piazza di San Calisto, rome
Annexed to the palace big buildings were built in 1936 by Pius XI belonged to the Vatican State and served first as the temporary seat of the ministries of the Holy See (before their transfer to the Palazzi dei Propilei in via della Conciliazione). Now these palaces host some internal services of independent activity of the Holy See.
San Callisto church, front Piazza di San Calisto.jpg
The name of the palace derives from the name of the church attached to the palace. It was built on the place of martyrdom of the pope Callistus I happened in 222, they main purpose of this little church was to take care of the well in which Callistus died. The Church of St. Callistus was restored in 1458 by Callistus III to honor the name of his predecessor, and later by Paul V again with the help of architect Torrigiani in 1610.
San Callisto church front view.jpg architecture of San Callisto church.jpg
San Calisto (San Callisto) Church was converted into a church by Gregory III in 741 over the martyrdom place of the saint (hence its name), it was restored by Orazio Torriani in 1610 for the Benedictine monks of Montecassino. The facade has two late-renaissance orders. In the lower order is a portal with a triangular gable sided by two niches; in the center of the upper order is an infilled window crowned by a triangular gable. The interior has a rectangular nave with two side chapels. In the chapel to the right are two angels supporting Pier Leone Grezzi’s painting ascribed to Gian Lorenzo Bernini. In the chapel to the left is a grille through which it is possibile to see the garden with the well where St Callixtus had been martyrized. On the main altar is a work by Avanzino Nucci: St Callixtus and other saints worship the Vergin.

The Palazzo San Callisto (also known as the Palace of Saint Callixtus) is a small palace in Rome and one of the extraterritorial Properties of the Holy See. The Palazzo is located in the Piazza di San Callisto, one of the areas of the Holy See regulated by the 1929 Lateran Treaty signed with the Kingdom of Italy. As such it has extraterritorial status.

The Palazzo San Callisto was named in honor of Pope Callixtus I and is now home to:

In 1990, the Palazzo was placed on the UNESCO World Heritage Register and listed

Address:
Palazzo and Church of San Callisto (Saint Callixtus)/ Palazzo e Chiesa di S.Callisto
Piazza di San Calisto, 16/ 24-26
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo-Bocca Verità-Aventino) (Roma centro)
Palazzo and Church of San Callisto (Saint Callixtus)/ Palazzo e Chiesa di S.Callisto is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "27"
Telephone: 0039 06 69886466 (Vicariato)-06 5895945. For information contact the parish office of the Basilica of Santa Maria in Trastevere (tel. 06 5814802).
Transport: Basilica/ Church of Santa Maria in Trastevere

As you visit 'Palazzo and Church of San Callisto (Saint Callixtus)/ Palazzo e Chiesa di S.Callisto' you may also like following articles . . .

Catacombs of San Callisto (Saint Callistus/ Callixtus), Via Appia Antica

Catacombs of San Callisto (Saint Callistus/ Callixtus) [Italian: Le Catacombe di San Callisto] is the biggest underground burial site in Rome, it is formed of

Palace of Chancellery/ Palazzo della Cancelleria - Extraterritorial Property Of The Holy See

In the past the palace was attributed to Bramante, but for chronological stylistic motives this opinion was changed and now Palazzo della Cancelleria is

Fountain (Fontana) & Square (Piazza) of Santa Maria in Trastevere

This square was for all of the history of Trastevere district its real center and it remained it till now. In the center of it there is fountain documented

Church of Santa Cecilia in Trastevere

Together with the adjoining monastery of Benedictians located here since the 16th century, the church of S.Cecilia is one of the most characteristic

Basilica/ Church of Santa Maria in Trastevere

This Church of Santa Maria in Trastevere (Basilica/ Chiesa di S.Maria in Trastevere) occupies the 5th place in the hierarchy of Roman churches after St Peter's