"Palazzo Caetani" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 8th May 2011
It was built by order of Alessandro Mattei in 1564 probably by A.Lippi. It has two courtyards, the first of which has a triple row of arches, and the second has a fountain and ancient marbles. Later it passed to the Negroni, and in 1776 to the Caetani. The most celebrated member of this family was Michelangelo Caetani (who's name was given to adjoining street Via di Michelangelo). Being already blind he was still a member of temporary Italian Government in 1870. Via di Michelangelo is also remembered for the sad event happened on May 9, 1978, where a car with a dead body of Aldo Moro was left by his murderers. There is a memorable tablet on one of the houses of this street.
After the Caetani family extinguished in 1994, the palace was destined for the promotion of cultural initiatives and for the Fondazione Roffredo Caetani, protecting the ex property of this family.
Via delle Botteghe Oscure, 32 Rione S. Angelo (Via Michelangelo Caetani)
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Sant'Angelo (Portico Ottavia-Teatro Marcello) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Caetani is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "122"