"Palazzo Carpegna/ Accademia di San Luca (Academy of Saint Luke Gallery), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
At present the palace is a seat of Accademia di S.Luca, which moved here after its historical seat in the palace adjoining Chiesa dei SS.Luca e Martina on Roman Forum was destroyed in 1934. The origins of the Academy of St Luke come from the Compagnia di Pittori, transformed in the University of Painters in 1478 with the name of St Luke, taken from the name of the church, which the artists used for meetings (Chiesa di S.Luca on Esquiline Hill, destroyed now).
Founded in 1593, the Galleria dell' Accademia Nazionale di San Luca (National Academy of Saint Luke Gallery) has as its symbol the image of Saint Luke evangelist, painter and patron of the artists. It was founded with the purpose of elevating the work of "artists" above that of craftsman. In 1605, Pope Paul V granted the academy the right on the feast of St. Luke to pardon a condemned man. In 1620s, Urban VIII extended broad rights to the academy to decide who was considered an artist in Rome.
The aim of this organization was education and promotion of young artists through the courses of painting, sculpture and architecture under direction of a "prince", the president of Academy. It was officially recognized by papal state in 1577 and a year later it received a church of St Martina on Roman Forum. The following personalities were in different time the "princes" of Academy: C.Fontana, F.Fuga, A.R.Mengs, A.Canova and etc. The symbol of the Institute is a triangle with the equal sides formed of a paint-brush, a chisel and a compass, inside of which is a slogan of Horace "Aequa Potestas".
The palace houses Galleria dell'Accademia di S.Luca compound of the gifts and bequests from its members and donations from other sources. Here are the works of Baciccia, Titian, Raphael, F.Zuccari, Rubens, Guercino, S.Conca, A.Algardi, A.Canova, G.Reni, P.Bracci, and many others.
The Academy is still active. From the very beginning the statutes of the Academy directed that each candidate-academician was to donate a work of his art in perpetual memory and, later, a portrait. Thus the Academy, in its modern premises in the sixteenth-century Palazzo Carpegna in Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca, has accumulated a unique collection of paintings and sculptures, including about 500 portraits, as well as an outstanding collection of drawings.
Palazzo Carpegna/ Accademia di San Luca (Academy of Saint Luke Gallery)
Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca, 77
Near the Fontana di Trevi
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Carpegna/ Accademia di San Luca (Academy of Saint Luke Gallery) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "58"
Hours: Mon-Sat 10am-12:30pm, Closed Sunday
Telephone: 0039 06 6798850 - 6798848 - 6790324
Fax: 0039 06 6789243
Web site: http://www.accademiasanluca.it/
Find Nearby Bus Station, Train Station, Underground Metro Stations, Tourist Information Points of Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain) at Piazza di Trevi
Getting To Palazzo Carpegna/ Galleria dell' Accademia Nazionale di San Luca (National Academy of Saint Luke Gallery) at Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca, From Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain) at Piazza di Trevi:
Departure: Piazza di Trevi, 00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Turn left Via della Stamperia and carry on for 124 m
Arrival: Piazza dell'Accademia di San Luca, 00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
distance covered (metres) 154 meters.