Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome), Rome

"Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011

Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome), Rome

It was built in 1714-1724 by A.Specchi and belonged to the De Carolis, Compagnia di Gesu', the Simonetti, the Boncompagni, and in 1908 passed to the Bank of Rome. The latter adapted the palace for its needs by P.Piacentini, who transformed the courtyard in the hall for public and the stalls into the offices. The construction was enlarged on Via Lata on the site of previous minor constructions.

In the middle of the 19th century the prince Baldassare Boncompagni Ludovisi, historian of sciences and maecenas held in this palace the Tipography of the maths and physics. Here were also different commercial stores and a restaurant.

In the 18th century an ambassador of France, cardinal De Bernis lived here, as well as Chateaubriand in 1828-1829. It also housed the embassy of France. The building was then acquired by the Simonetti family and by the Ludovisi Boncompagni. Since 1908 it is owned by the Banca di Roma and its seat. For more than two centuries Palazzo De Carolis was in the center of social activity due to a big number of celebrated personalities resident in it and its different functions.

Inside are ample halls richly decorated with the paintings, helicoidal staircase, and a vast Gallery.

Fontana (Fountain) del Facchino

Fontana (Fountain) del Facchino
The fountain had originally been placed on the façade of the Grifoni Palace, owned by the Florentine painter Jacopino del Conte, in Via del Corso, but was then moved in 1872 to the Via Lata, on the façade of the De Carolis Simonetti Palace, today the seat of the Banca di Roma. The fountain represents a water-carrier dressed in typical16th century porters’ clothes who is holding a small barrel pouring water. The work was probably commissioned by the Università degli Acquaioli and is attributed to Jacopino del Conte,who is thought to have built it during the reign of Gregory XIII (1572-1585). From the 17th century the Porter became one of Rome’s “talking statues”.

Address:
Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome)/ Fontana (Fountain) del Facchino
Via del Corso, 307 (Via Lata)
Adjoining to Piazza di Sant'Ignazio at Campo Marzio
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro) [Via del Corso]
Zone: Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro) [Via Lata]
Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "50"
Telephone: 0039 06 67078406
Fax: 0039 06 67008112

To Reach Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome) & Fontana (Fountain) del Facchino:

Find Nearby Bus Station, Train Station, Underground Metro Stations, Tourist Information Points of Piazza di Sant'Ignazio at Campo Marzio or you can reach Via del Corso

As you visit 'Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome), Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Simonetti, Michelangelo (1724-1781)

Michelangelo Simonetti, Italian architect, was born and died in Rome in 1724-1781. Since 1776 he worked in Vatican at the construction of the Museo Pio

Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)

In 1504 this palace became a seat of State Mint by the order of Julius II, author of monetary reform. The facade's construction was began by cardinal Giulio de

Cassa Di Risparmio Di Roma/Fondazione Roma Museo/ The Museo del Corso, Rome

The Palace of the Savings Bank was built by A.Cipolla in 1864-1874 on the site of old palaces, ex property of the Hospital of S.Giacomo degli Incurabili. It is

Palazzo della Banca d'Italia (Palazzo Koch)/ Bank of Italy Palace

This huge Neo-classical palace was built by G.Koch in 1886-1904 for the "Banca Nazionale", which later took name of "Banca d'Italia" (Bank of Italy). It is one

Palazzo della Stamperia (Printing House), right side of Trevi Fountain, Rome

Palazzo della Stamperia (Printing House) was erected in the end of the 16th century by G.Del Duca for cardinal Luigi Cornaro. In 1642 it passed to Olimpia