"Palazzo De Cupis on Piazza Navona" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 11th June 2011
Originally it was a house built in the second half of the 15th century and belonged to Bernardino De Cupis. Later it was inhabited by cardinal Ascanio Sforza. In 1520 cardinal Giandomenico De Cupis enlarged his property adjoining the houses of close German Hospice. Centuries before, the facade on Piazza Navona was probably all frescoed. Inside there are two courtyards in old style. In the 18th century the palace passed to the Ornano, who opened here a theater, but before it some personalities and ambassadors lived in it. In 1748 was instituted a magistrate of the "Governor of Piazza Navona" who administrated the life of the square and its market.
Palazzo De Cupis on Piazza Navona
Adjoining the church of Sant'Agnese in Agone
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Parione (Navona-Campo de' Fiori) (Roma centro)
Palazzo De Cupis on Piazza Navona is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "57"
Bus: 70 - 81 - 87 - 116 - 116T - 186 - 204 - 492 - 628