Palazzo dei Penitenzieri, Columbus Hotel, Rome

"Palazzo dei Penitenzieri, Columbus Hotel, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Palazzo dei Penitenzieri, Columbus Hotel, Rome

It was erected in 1480-90 for the cardinal Domenico Della Rovere, probably by B.Pontelli in Palazzo Venezia style. Starting from the 17th century the palace entered in the period of its decadence loosing external decorations and suffering from the installation of new windows.

penitenzieri cortile
(pictured above: inner courtyard)

On the facade facing Via della Conciliazione there are two pretty little fountains reminding the heraldic symbols (eagle and dragon) of Paul V Borghese (pictured below).
penitenzieri drago
The palace takes its present name from the seat of a group of Jesuits who were acting for a long time as penitentiaries of basilica St Peter's, i.e. the priests who had the exceptional right to absolve grave sins. Today the palace is known as the seat of an Equestrian Order of S.Sepolcro di Gerusalemme, which among other created here the hotel.

In 1655 it became the seat of the Jesuits who were the penitentiaries in the basilica of S. Peter. At the moment it also houses the Hotel Columbus.

Notes: Now seat of the Hotel Columbus and the Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem

Address:
Palazzo dei Penitenzieri
Via della Conciliazione, 33
00193, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Borgo (Castel Sant'Angelo) (Roma centro)
Palazzo dei Penitenzieri, Columbus Hotel is Shown By "Map D Zone" As "19"
Subway: Ottaviano (881 m N), Metro A
Columbus Hotel Rome
Tel: 0039 06 6865435
More Info: http://www.hotelcolumbus.net/

As you visit 'Palazzo dei Penitenzieri, Columbus Hotel, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo dei Tribunali (Palace of Tribunals) Now Hotel St. George Roma

Via Giulia, an evocative XVIth century street great street desired by Pope Giulio II, who gave it its name. It was born from the dream of Pope Julius II and

Palazzo del Grand Hotel (Le Grand Hotel - St. Regis), Rome

It was open on January 10, 1894 with a great celebration of this event. The Grand Hotel was built by Giulio Podesti for an important International hotel

Albergo Ambasciatori/ Ambasciatori Palace Hotel/ La Terrazza Dell'Hotel Ambasciatori, Rome

Albergo Ambasciatori/ Ambasciatori Palace Hotel/ La Terrazza Dell'Hotel Ambasciatori was erected in 1926 according to the project of M.Piacentini. The name of

Via della Conciliazione, Borgo, Rome

This street is a realization of ancient projects about opening the perspective from Tiber to St Peter's, represented continuously for many centuries. It was

Hotel de Russie, Rome

In the beginning of the 19th century the palace was named Locanda di Russia (Inn of Russia), but in the end of the 19th century it changed its name into a