Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)

"Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 6th June 2011

In 1504 this palace became a seat of State Mint by the order of Julius II, author of monetary reform. The facade's construction was began by cardinal Giulio de'Medici, future pope Clement VII in 1520-1523. The design belonged to A.da Sangallo the Younger. The Mint remained here till 1541, and in 1666 it became a seat of Bank St Spirit founded by Paul V in 1605 as a financial support for Hospital St Spirit (Ospedale S.Spirito). The facade of the building resembles a Roman triumphal arch and the two baroque statues crowning it represent Charity and Thrift.

Palazzo della Zecca or Del Banco di S.Spirito.
The building was chosen as the seat for the Papal Mint by Julius II Della Rovere (1503-1513), who adapted a pre-existing building to its new function, probably by Bramante. The present façade was realized around 1520 for Leo X Medici (1513-1521), by Antonio da Sangallo the Young (1483-1546). In 1665 it became the seat of the Bank of the Holy Spirit, founded by Paul V Borghese (1605-1621) in 1605; on this occasion the inside of the building was adapted to its new function by architect Giovanni Tommasi Ripoli.
Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito (Bank of the Holy Spirit), Via del Banco di Santo Spirito Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito (Bank of the Holy Spirit), Via dei Banchi Nuovi
The façade of the trapezoidal building is slightly concave and has a rusticated base with the door and two windows. The upper part is divided by four pilasters upon a tall base, in the centre of which is an arch, at their sides are two windows divided by two circular elements. For these elements Sangallo drew inspiration from the arches of ancient Rome. On top of the façade are two baroque statues of Charity and Frugality. Between the statues – on top of the façade – is the coat of arms of Paul V. In the middle of the arch, upon the main door, is the coat of arms of Clement IX Rospigliosi (1667-1669) and an inscription that indicates the year of foundation of the Bank of the Holy Spirit. The hospital, too, benefited from the system.
architecture of Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit), Rome
The Banco di Santo Spirito (Bank of the Holy Spirit) still exists but is part of the Banca di Roma. There are decorations on pilasters, Corinthian capitals, coats of arms, roundels, statues and an enormous arch. The Bank was the first national bank in Europe (as the bank of the Papal States), the first public deposit bank in Rome, and the oldest continuously-operating bank in Rome until its merger in 1992.

Notes: The building is closed to the public and can be seen only from the outside.

Address:
Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)
Via del Banco di Santo Spirito (Via dei Banchi Nuovi), 31
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "34"
Bus: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II
Train: Ottaviano-S. Pietro

As you visit 'Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)

A little church of S.Aurea and annexed to it convent passed to a just established Confraternity of Neapolitans in 1574. They built the bigger church in 1619 by

Palazzo de Carolis Simonetti del Banco di Roma (Bank of Rome), Rome

It was built in 1714-1724 by A.Specchi and belonged to the De Carolis, Compagnia di Gesu', the Simonetti, the Boncompagni, and in 1908 passed to the Bank of

Palazzo della Banca d'Italia (Palazzo Koch)/ Bank of Italy Palace

This huge Neo-classical palace was built by G.Koch in 1886-1904 for the "Banca Nazionale", which later took name of "Banca d'Italia" (Bank of Italy). It is one

Hospital Ospedale Santo Spirito in Saxia (Sassia), Rome

The Hospital was founded by Innocent III in 1200. He enlarged the old hospice (Schola Saxonum) of the Saxon king Ine. The word "Sassia" derives from "Saxonum

Via dei Banchi Nuovi

Creating of the street was began by Sixtus IV and it became prestigious immediately, as the members of the pontifical government were building here their