Palazzo Falconieri - Hungarian Academy

"Palazzo Falconieri - Hungarian Academy" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 1st June 2011

The palace was built in the 16th century for the Farnese family, but in 1638 it was bought by Orazio Falconieri and transformed a lot by Borromini. Between 1646 and 1649 Orazio Falconieri commissioned Borromini to enlarge the building by adding on the right of the main facade a blind, symmetrical and similar entrance to the original one on the left, and surmounted by a falcon – the symbol of the Falconieri family – and another three windows. The ends were decorated with two huge Hermes with a falcon head and women’s breasts, perhaps alluding to the beauty of the Falconieri women. On the side towards the Tiber was added a new wing with a three-arched loggia ending in a banister adorned with two bifrontal hermas.

Palazzo Falconieri, seat of Accademia d'Ungheria (Hungarian Academy)
His projects (not finished) included a wide terrace on Tiber, with a fancy fountain that would poor its water in the river. Several rooms inside have fine ceiling decorated in stucco by Borromini. When the Falconieri family died out in 1865, the palace was sold to the Medici del Vascello. In 1890, following construction work for the Tiber embankment walls, the side facing the river underwent considerable changes. Purchased by the Hungarian Vilmos Frankoi, the founder of the Historical-Geographical Institute, it was ceded to the Hungarian government in 1927. At present the palace is a seat of Accademia d'Ungheria (Hungarian Academy) since 1928.

Accademia d'Ungheria (Hungarian Academy) is managed by the Ministry of Culture and Public Education of Hungary. The Academy organizes cultural activities and courses of language, conferences, concerts of classical music, literary evenings, film projections. It houses a rich library, founded in 1892, interesting for the history of Hungary and the relationships between Italy and Hungary in literature and art.

Address:
Palazzo Falconieri - Hungarian Academy
Via Giulia, 1
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Falconieri - Hungarian Academy is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "4"
For Transportation, Visit: Palazzo dei Tribunali (Palace of Tribunals) Now Hotel St. George Roma
Hours: Mon-Fri 10am-1pm.Closed Sat morning and Sun.
Telephone: 0039 06 6889671
Fax: 0039 06 68805292
Email: acca...@tin.it
Website: http://www.magyarintezet.hu/index2.jsp?lang=ENG&HomeID=13

As you visit 'Palazzo Falconieri - Hungarian Academy' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Carpegna/ Accademia di San Luca (Academy of Saint Luke Gallery), Rome

It was erected by a pupil of G.Della Porta in the end of the 16th century - beginning of the 17th century for the Vaini family. Later it passed to the Carpegna

Casina Vagnuzzi - Accademia Filarmonica Romana (Roman Philharmonic Academy), Rome

Originally it was a simple construction built in the 16th century, as one of the houses of the Villa Giulia. It was reconstructed by G.Valadier, and later by L

Palazzo dei Tribunali (Palace of Tribunals) Now Hotel St. George Roma

Via Giulia, an evocative XVIth century street great street desired by Pope Giulio II, who gave it its name. It was born from the dream of Pope Julius II and

Sangallo Medici Clarelli Palace (Palazzo)

Next building after the church of S.Giovanni dei Fiorentini is a palace, which A.da Sangallo built for himself in times when Leo X gave an impulse to embellish

Villa Aurelia - American Academy in Rome

The villa was built for the cardinal Gerolamo Farnese in 17th century (pictured above: entrance to the villa) atop the Gianicolo (or Janiculum) hill, along the