"Palazzo Fiano Almagia, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
The Historical Frieze occupies the whole longest sides of the monument. It probably represents the Ara Pacis’ opening ceremony in the IX century BC. However, the presence of anachronistic personages like Agrippa, who died before the IX century, and situations, like Augustus in the Pontifex Maximums capacity (position held later), might make this frieze a sort of glorification of the Augustan family.
Palazzo Fiano Almagia was built on the monumental Roman construction in the beginning of the 14th century by an English cardinal, titular of the nearby church Chiesa di S.Lorenzo in Lucina. Eugenius IV had this palace definitely transformed in a residence of the titular cardinals of this church in the 1st half of 15th century, and in that epoch it was considered the most splendid palace after the one in Vatican. In 1624 it became a property of Prince Peretti, nephew of Sixtus V; in 1690 it passed to the Ottoboni, dukes of Fiano, who's name was given to the palace; in 1898 it was acquired by the Almagia' who's name was also used for the palace.
In the sixteenth century the building was also remembered as the "palace of Portugal," Portuguese Cardinal George de Costa, who lived there. The famous Ara Pacis from ancient Rome was discovered under the Palazzo Fiano Almagia a century ago. The Ara Pacis, built in honor of Augustus to celebrate the long and sustained period of peace achieved under his reign, there was originally just under a corner of the building with the Via del Corso. The work undertaken in this century, took out what remained of the structure located at a depth of several meters to be reassembled on Largo Augusto Imperatore.
The main reconstruction and restoration works took place in the beginning of the 17th century, 1745 and in the end of the 19th century. Beneath the palace were discovered and extracted the remains of Ara Pacis Augustae.
In the 17th-18th centuries the palace housed a famous Puppet Theatre, and drawing-room of madame de Recamier, a friend of Chateaubriand. In the end of the 19th century Palazzo Fiano also housed a noble club Circolo della Caccia (Hunting Club), which later moved to Palazzo Borghese; its place was occupied by another club Circolo degli Scacchi (Chess Club).
The atrium and the courtyard preserve a rich collection of marbles and ancient inscriptions.
The altar had been forgotten for centuries: during the Adrian Age (117-138 AD), the raising of the soil-level around and the frequent inundations of River Tiber, the Ara was already partially underground and protected by a containment wall. The Ara was accidentally rediscovered from 1568: from the foundations of Palazzo Peretti, later called Palazzo Fiano-Almagià (at the corner between Via in Lucina and Via del Giardino Theodoli), emerged 9 blocks of sculpted marble. The Grand Duke of Tuscany purchased some of them to make a donation later on to Florentine Uffizi.
Inside the palace Fiano - Almagià, besides many cardinals, dwelt in the sixteenth century architect Annibale Lippi and three centuries later, the young Massimo D'Azeglio.
Palazzo Fiano Almagia
At the corner of the Via del Corso and the Via in Lucina
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Colonna (Pantheon-Montecitorio-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Fiano Almagia is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "29"
To Reach Palazzo Fiano Almagia: Find Nearby Bus Station, Underground Metro, Train Station, Tourist Information Points of Church/Chiesa San Lorenzo in Lucina (Via In Lucina) or Via del CorsoAs you visit 'Palazzo Fiano Almagia, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .