Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)

"Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 7th June 2011

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace) was probably erected for cardinal Fieschi in 1505 and by mistake was attributed to Bramante. The palace passed the the Boncompagni, dukes of Sora, in the epoch of pope Gregory XIII, who belonged to this family. In 1831 it was adapted to the infantry barracks, and after 1870, it was partly demolished to lay out Corso Vittorio Emanuele.

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace), Corso Vittorio Emanuele II Entrance of Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace), Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, Rome
The Sora Palace was built in the 15th century by Urbano Fieschi, Count of Lavagna, and later enlarged by his brother Nicola. The original building was of three storeys and flanked by two towers, as depicted in the map by Tempesta. The building was sold to the Savelli family and in 1579 was purchased by Pope Gregory XIII (1572-1585), a member of the Bolognese Boncompagni family, Dukes of Sora; hence the palace’s name.

During the 17th century it was the hub of Roman society and intellectual life, and in the 18th century was the seat of the Quiriti Academy. During the 19th century is was used as a cavalry barracks. It later became the property of the Italian State and in 1889, following the works carried out to open the street called Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, the main façade was demolished and then rebuilt in its original form further back along this new street. Part of the older building is still visible along Vicolo Savelli. In 1892 the palace became the property of Rome’s City Council and was turned into a school building: firstly for the “T. Mamiani” lyceum (high school) and later for the “V. Gioberti” technical commercial institute.

The façade overlooking Corso Vittorio Emanuele II is of two storeys with a 20th century raising. On the ground floor there is an arched portal flanked by architraves and pilasters, and ten windows with arched cornices and gratings with window openings below. The first floor has eleven windows flanked by Doric pilasters and alternating triangular curved tympanums above. On the second floor the windows present a simple square shape and a small architrave.

The façade overlooking Via Sora partly preserves the original 15th century appearance and is of the same form as the one overlooking Corso Vittorio, with eight curved windows – the first on the left being framed as a portal – on the ground floor and nine windows on the first floor. The inner courtyard has arches on the long sides and an arch between two rectangular apertures on the short sides. The 19th-century road connecting the Vatican and the Capitol took more than a half of the building, with only a portion of the original facade remaining intact. The present-day facade is a copy of the former one.

Palazzo Caccialupi, an unpretentious Renaissance house, with a fine and decorated portal, is located in a narrow alley behind Palazzo di Sora.

Address:
Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)
Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, 217
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "37"

As you visit 'Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)' you may also like following articles . . .

Corso Vittorio Emanuele

This is one of the main traffic arteries of Rome built in course of adaptation of the city for the functions of a capital of Italy. It serves to connect Borghi

Ponte (Bridge) Vittorio Emanuele II, Rome

The bridge was unveiled in 1911 in the year of 50th anniversary of the national unity and dedicated to the first king of Italy. It is a natural extension of

Sangallo Medici Clarelli Palace (Palazzo)

Next building after the church of S.Giovanni dei Fiorentini is a palace, which A.da Sangallo built for himself in times when Leo X gave an impulse to embellish

Piazza (Square) Vittorio Emanuele II, Rome - Open Air Cinema And Food Market, Big Garden With Park

Piazza Vittorio, as it is called more commonly, is a wide rectangular square completely surrounded by arcades in Piemontese style, unique in this type in Rome

Palazzo del Vescovo di Cervia (Palace of the Bishop of Cervia)

The palace was not finished and consists of only one angle between via dei Banchi Vecchi and via delle Carceri. The project belonged to A.da Sangallo the