Palazzo Gaddi

"Palazzo Gaddi" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 5th June 2011

The palace was also named Palazzo Nicolini and Palazzo Amici from the names of its owners. It stands in Via del Banco di S.Spirito #42 and has a beautiful Renaissance loggia. It was probably built by Sansovino in 1530 for Roberto Strozzi. In the past it was famous for hosting Michelangelo and Annibale Caro. The palace conserves in its courtyard an important collection of ancient marbles.

Palazzo Gaddi was also named Palazzo Nicolini and Palazzo Amici Palazzo Gaddi, Via del Banco di Santo Spirito
On the other side of the street stands a notable construction which bore such names as Palazzo Alberini, Palazzo Cicciaporci, Palazzo Senni. It was completed in course of one century from 1515 to 1621 according to a design of G.Romano and intervention of Pietro Rosselli. The building is located along the ancient Roman axis, which still leads, at the mouth of Bridge St. Angelo and the Mausoleum of Hadrian.

The present seat of the Chamber of Deputies stands on an area occupied by this 15th century Palazzo Gaddi. The building was entrusted in 1653 to Gianlorenzo Bernini by Innocent X Pamphilij, who wanted to give it to the Ludovisi family. In 1694 Innocent XII Pignatelli decided to convert it into the seat of the State Law Courts and entrusted the works to Carlo Fontana. In 1871 the palace became the seat of the Chamber of Deputies but, being insufficient for its new functions, it was enlarged according to the project by Ernesto Basile who, between 1908 and 1927, added the new body containing the present Parliament hall and realized the facade onto Piazza del Parlamento.

Note: Closed to the public; the building is visible only from the outside.

Palazzo Gaddi
Via del Banco di Santo Spirito, 42 Rione Ponte
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: RRione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Gaddi is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "33"
Tel: +39.06.4542.1126
Fax: +39.06.6813.2259

As you visit 'Palazzo Gaddi' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)

In 1504 this palace became a seat of State Mint by the order of Julius II, author of monetary reform. The facade's construction was began by cardinal Giulio de

Palazzo del Parlamento (Palazzo di Montecitorio), Rome

It was built by E.Basile in 1908-1918 as a seat of Camera dei Deputati (Chamber of Deputies), adjoining to the Palazzo di Montecitorio. The Chamber is panelled

Palazzo Braschi - Seat of Museo di Roma (Museum of Rome)

This was the last palace in Rome erected for the papal family, and is one of the most imposing constructions of the pontifical Rome. Palazzo Braschi was built

Palazzo Farnese - French Embassy Building in Rome

This is the most beautiful palace of Rome, an extreme masterpiece of Renaissance, a work of A.da Sangallo the Younger (the front and side facades),

Palazzo Tanari

It is adjoined to the complex of the palace Orsini. Palazzo Tanari was built in the 17th century and belonged to the Tanari family, relatives of of the Orsini