Palazzo Gambirasi

"Palazzo Gambirasi" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 9th June 2011

entrance of Palazzo Gambirasi

It was built by the Arch-confraternity of S.Giacomo degli Spagnoli. The project was edited in 1659 by G.A.De Rossi. Soon the palace passed to the prelate from Bergamo, Donato Gambirasi. At present it belongs to the Teutonic Institutes of S.Maria dell'Anima.

Palazzo Gambirasi, Arco della Pace (Via della Pace), rome upper portion of Palazzo Gambirasi
On July 7, 1657, the rich merchant Donato Gambirasi from Bergamo acquired several houses and a palazzo in the immediate neighbourhood of Santa Maria della Pace. Giovanni Antonio de Rossi remodeled the palace, which has eleven window axis on the Via della Pace, but the area acquired by Gambirasi also extended to the north of the church. The urbanistic intervention by pope Alexander VII Chigi, creating a theatralic architecture around Santa Maria della Pace, interfered with Gambirasi's desire to maximize the usable surfaces. The finally built northern extensions shows a much more complex decoration and is distinguished from the actual palace by the missing mezzanine above the ground floor and a higher piano nobile. After the economic decline of the Gambirasi family, the palace was sold to the german community of Santa Maria dell'Anima, which made several flats out of the building. The two crests visible on the engraving are lost.

Address:
Palazzo Gambirasi
Arco della Pace (Via della Pace), 8
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Gambirasi is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "50"
Website: http://www.palazzidiroma.it/palazzo%20Gambirasi.htm

As you visit 'Palazzo Gambirasi' you may also like following articles . . .

Chiesa di/ Church of Santa Maria della Pace

This beautiful church and the space around it were created by initiative of Sixtus IV in 1480-1484 in the moment of grave political and religious threat for

Teatro Pace

In the buildings #1/a and #3 on Via del Teatro Pace once a theatre was located. It was founded in the end of the 17th century, and functioned in 1720-1853. It

Palazzo della Banca d'Italia (Palazzo Koch)/ Bank of Italy Palace

This huge Neo-classical palace was built by G.Koch in 1886-1904 for the "Banca Nazionale", which later took name of "Banca d'Italia" (Bank of Italy). It is one

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Palace of Chancellery/ Palazzo della Cancelleria - Extraterritorial Property Of The Holy See

In the past the palace was attributed to Bramante, but for chronological stylistic motives this opinion was changed and now Palazzo della Cancelleria is