Palazzo Lancellotti

"Palazzo Lancellotti" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

entrance of Palazzo Lancellotti

The palace was erected on the site of other constructions, in the end of the 16th century, by the order of Cardinal Scipione Lancellotti. The project belonged to F.da Volterra and C.Maderno. Domenichino created the main door with the columns supporting a balcony. It was one of the Roman palaces where a Roman noble family closed itself for the period between 1970 until 1929, as a pope did in Vatican palace, to demonstrate their disagreement with the new regime.

Palazzo Lancellotti, Piazzetta di San Simeone
The courtyard is among the most interesting things characterizing the palace. It has a portico and a loggia decorated by ancient marbles and stuccoes. Inside, are the wonderful halls with the vaults frescoed by Agostino Tassi’s perspectives and landscapes and by Guercino’s allegories of Richness and Glory. Interesting the courtyard, embellished by ancient marble decorations and stuccos. In the palace had its seat the Accademia degli Infecondi founded by Filippo Lancellotti in 1650.

In front of Palazzo Lancellotti, in Via dei Coronari, is not a big 18th century palace owned by the Salimei. It is located on the spot of another palace which was bought by Sixtus V in 1585 as a seat for Confraternity Monte di Pieta', which didn't have a regular residence. It remained its property even when Confraternity moved to the new ultimate seat. The palace was transformed in the 18th century. There were many shops selling devotional goods to the pilgrims including rosaries and small crowns (hence Coronari).

Notes: Closed to the public; the building is visible only from the outside.

Address:
Palazzo Lancellotti
Piazzetta di San Simeone, 18
Entrance directly on Piazza Navona
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Lancellotti is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "48"

As you visit 'Palazzo Lancellotti' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti (Lancellotti Palace)

Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti (Lancellotti Palace, also known as de Torres) was built for the Spanish family Torres by P.Ligorio in 1560. The palace is

Palace of Chancellery/ Palazzo della Cancelleria - Extraterritorial Property Of The Holy See

In the past the palace was attributed to Bramante, but for chronological stylistic motives this opinion was changed and now Palazzo della Cancelleria is

Sangallo Medici Clarelli Palace (Palazzo)

Next building after the church of S.Giovanni dei Fiorentini is a palace, which A.da Sangallo built for himself in times when Leo X gave an impulse to embellish

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace) was probably erected for cardinal Fieschi in 1505 and by mistake was attributed to Bramante. The palace passed the the

Palazzo Braschi - Seat of Museo di Roma (Museum of Rome)

This was the last palace in Rome erected for the papal family, and is one of the most imposing constructions of the pontifical Rome. Palazzo Braschi was built