Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne

"Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne

The most ancient in Rome Massimo family was first historically documented in 999, but its splendor took place in the 15th century with Petrus de Maximis. Centuries ago the Massimo became owners of three palaces one adjoining to another. The facade is renown as one of the most masterful of its time, combining both elegance with stern rustication. The entrance is characterized by a central portico with the six Doric columns. In addition, there is a variation of size of windows for different levels, and the decorative frames of the windows of the third floor. The interior ceilings and vestibules are elaborately ornamented with rosettes and coffered roofs.

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne

This Renaissance palace stood in the head of the narrow street Via di S.Pantaleo (not existing anymore); was restored in 1532-1536 by B.Peruzzi after the fire of Rome in 1527. The ground floor is characterized by a central portico with the six Doric columns. Inside there are two courtyards, of which the first one has a portico with Doric columns as a basement for a rich loggia, which is also made of Doric columns. This column decorations gave name to the palace (alle Colonne).
Inside the Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne

Interior

To the left of the previous palace is Palazzo di Pirro, erected by a pupil of A.da Sangallo in circa 1530. It takes the name from the statue of Mars, considered to be Pirro by mistake.

On the little square Piazzetta dei Massimi is Palazzo Istoriato or Palazzetto Massimi. It was also built by B.Peruzzi and has a facade with the monochromic decorations of D.da Volterra's school (1523). The first printing-shop was housed here in 1467 and the first printed books in Rome were issued here.

The Massimo family was responsible for the State Mail during the pope's rule in Rome, that is why Palazzo Istoriato was a seat of central state Post-office. The adjoining Via della Posta Vecchia is the last record of it. In 1852 its seat moved to Palazzo Madama.

In addition the curved facade was dictated by foundations built upon the stands for the stadium (odeon) of the emperor Domitian. It fronts the now-busy Corso Vittorio Emanuele, a few hundred yards from the front of the church of Sant'Andrea della Valle.

Address:
Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne
Corso Vittorio Emanuele II, 141
Near Piazza Navona and Campo de’ Fiori
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "41"
Bus: 40 - 46 - 62 - 64
Tel.: +39.06.4542.1126
Fax: +39.06.6813.2259
Email: i...@palazzidiroma.it
Website: http://www.palazzidiroma.it/palazzo%20Massimo%20alle%20Colonne.htm

As you visit 'Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti (Lancellotti Palace)

Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti (Lancellotti Palace, also known as de Torres) was built for the Spanish family Torres by P.Ligorio in 1560. The palace is

National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo

The palace was built in 1887 by architect Camillo Pistrucci according to the wish of Jesuit Massimiliano Massimo (1849-1911) who destined it for the seat of

Casino of Villa Giustiniani Massimo: Seat of Franciscans in the Holy Land

Villa Giustiniani Massimo is named after Marquis Vincenzo Giustiniani. Enclosed by Via Merulana, Via Manzoni, Via Tasso and Piazza St Giovanni, the park and

Circus Maximus (Circo Massimo)

It is thought that the Circus, located in the Valle Murcia, between the Palatine and the Aventine Hills, existed already before the 4th century b.C. and was

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace) was probably erected for cardinal Fieschi in 1505 and by mistake was attributed to Bramante. The palace passed the the