"Palazzo Mattei (Palazzo Mattei di Giove & Palazzo Mattei Paganica)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 7th May 2011
The Mattei family occupied the zone between Via dei Funari, Piazza delle Tartarughe, Via Paganica, Via delle Botteghe Oscure, and Via Gaetani in the middle of the 15th century. Here they built a series of palaces under the names of their feuds.
The first palace was in Piazza delle Tartarughe built in the middle of the 16th century and attributed to Nanni di B.B. It has a white marble doorway with a coat-of-arms of the Mattei. The facade was frescoed by T.Zuccari (no signs left).
Palazzo Mattei Paganica in Via Paganica is attributed to Vignola and was built in 1541; it has a courtyard with a portico and loggia; the halls are decorated by T.Zuccari and F.Zuccari; outside is a splendid cornice. This palace is occupied by Institute of Italian Encyclopaedia, founded in 1925 by Giovanni Treccani, which is a center of publishing and cultural initiatives. Beneath the palace were found the remains of Teatro di Balbo.
The Mattei owned several buildings forming what was called insula Mattei, in today's words a block of buildings. Palazzo Mattei Paganica, after a branch of the family who owned the fief of Paganica (in the Kingdom of Naples), was built around 1541. Its simple design is embellished by a very decorated cornice showing an eagle, the family heraldic symbol. Although to a much lesser degree than Palazzo Mattei di Giove, also this palace was decorated with some Roman reliefs.
Palazzo Mattei di Giove (also known as Palazzo Antici Mattei) is at Via Caetani 32. It was built in 1598-1618 by design of C.Maderno for Alessandro Mattei. It is one of the most prestigious examples of seventeenth century Rome. Now it is the seat of the Center for American Studies, the State Record Library, the Historical Institute for Modern and Contemporary Age and the Library of Modern and Contemporary History. Its rooms were frescoed by Tuscan and Dutch painters from the early years of the seventeenth century, including Domenichino, Pietro da Cortona, Pomarancio and Albani.
It has an imposing cornice, and rich exposition of ancient relieves, statues and busts. These marbles represent a part of the Mattei collection which was located in Villa Celimontana. The halls are beautifully decorated with paintings. From 1938 the palace belongs to the Italian State and houses a number of cultural institutions (Center of American Studies with the richest library in Europe on this subject; Institute of Modern and Contemporary History, with rich library of 300,000 volumes; and State Record Library with rare collection of sound reproduction tools and 45,000 volumes).
To distinguish Palazzo Mattei di Giove from the others it carries the name of a Mattei fief, Giove. The Mattei owned a number of other palazzi that carried the family name including Palazzo Mattei di Trastevere across the Tiber as well as properties in Umbria, the Palazzo Mattei Paganica.
Palazzo Mattei (Palazzo Mattei di Giove & Palazzo Mattei Paganica)
Piazza Paganica, Via Paganica 3-4 [Palazzo Mattei di Giove]
Via Michelangelo Caetani, 32 (Via dei Delfini) [Palazzo Mattei Paganica]
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Sant'Angelo (Portico Ottavia-Teatro Marcello) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Mattei (Palazzo Mattei di Giove & Palazzo Mattei Paganica) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "122"
Bus: 40 - 46 - 62 - 63 - 64 -70 - 87 - 186 - 204 fest - 630 - 780 - 810 Tram 8