Palazzo Mellini

"Palazzo Mellini" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 4th May 2011

It is on the left of Chiesa di S.Marcello al Corso with the entrance from Via dell'Umilta. It was built in the 18th century by Tomaso De Marchis who embellished it with nice windows which represent a summary of baroque motifs for cardinal Mario Mellini on the original palace of Venetian cardinal Michiel, nephew of Paul II. It was for a long time a residence of the cardinals titular of the Chiesa di S.Marco.

Palazzo Mellini on the left of Chiesa di S.Marcello al Corso
In 1532 it was sold to the Salviati and at the beginning of the XVIIth century to the Cesi, before being acquired by the Mellini, so its full name is Palazzo Michiel Salviati Cesi Mellini. The redesign by Tommaso De Marchis gave it a very light-hearted appearance.

The radical restoration in the 19th century changed a lot the look of the palace. In the 30's of the 20th century was built a gallery connecting Palazzo Mellini and adjoining church.

Address:
Palazzo Mellini
Piazza di San Marcello, 5
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Mellini is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "106"
Bus 62-63-81-85-95-117-119-160-175-204 fest.-492-628-630-850

As you visit 'Palazzo Mellini' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Cardinal Cesi, Rome

In 1520 cardinal Armellini built a new palace enlarging the old one of 15th century, which was bought by future cardinal Pier Donato Cesi and his brother

Church/ Chiesa di San Marcello al Corso

It stands on the site of the martyrdom of St Marcellus I, where in the 4th century was built the first church. The later construction that grew over the

Monte Mario, Rome

It is the ancient Clivus Cinnoe and the medieval Monte Malo. Its present name is taken from the Villa Mario Mellini built on the summit. It is the highest hill

Palazzo Salviati

Takes its name after a noble Florentine family which in 1554-64 made it built. The architect was Nanni de Baccio Bogio. Here was a residence of numerous

Palazzo Barberini, Triton & Api Fountain In Piazza Barberini, Rome

The original name of this square was "Piazza Grimana", taken from cardinal Grimani, who's vine-yards and villa were in this zone. When the Barberini acquired