Palazzo Odescalchi

"Palazzo Odescalchi" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 4th May 2011

Palazzo Odescalchi

In the Middle Ages the area of the present palace was occupied by another one, Palazzo dei Benzoni, which was transformed by C.Maderno, and in 1665 completely reconstructed by G.L.Bernini for cardinal Fabio Chigi (future Alexander VII). In 1745 it passed to the Odeschalchi. The prince Baldassare Odeschalchi had it enlarged in the 18th century, with the participation of N.Salvi and L.Vanvitelli. The vast courtyard with porticos on three sides, and ancient statues, was created by C.Maderno. In 1887 a terrible fire destroyed a big part of the palace. The Odeschalchi had it restored, and completely reconstructed the palace's part facing Via del Corso, where R.Ojetti erected a facade in the Florentine 15th century style. The master’s involvement in the project laid down rules which were to have a great influence on the architecture of central Europe.

Palazzo Odescalchi at Piazza dei Santi Apostoli, rome
The palaces to the left of Palazzo Odescalchi are relatively modern buildings which have replaced the palace, Palazzo Ruzzi, shown in the plate. Immediately after Palazzo Ruzzi there was a narrow street leading to Chiesa di San Romualdo, a church pulled down in 1878 to open a larger street linking Piazza di Venezia with the railway station. The church of S. Maria di Loreto is still visible, whilst the tip of the Trajan's Column is hidden by Palazzo Spinelli.

Erba-Odescalchi, or Odescalchi is the name of a Roman aristocratic family. The family, which is one of the most celebrated in Italy, owns the Palazzo Odescalchi in Rome, the famous Orsini-Odescalchi castle in Bracciano, as well as large estates in Italy and Hungary. Palazzo Odescalchi was originally a possession of the Colonna family; in 1622 it was sold to Cardinal Ludovico Ludovisi, nephew of Pope Gregory XV who commissioned Carlo Maderno a renovation of the building; because in the following year the cardinal sold back the palace to the Colonna only the courtyard and a few rooms were completed.

Address:
Palazzo Odescalchi (Palazzo Odescalchi Balbi)
Piazza dei Santi Apostoli, 80
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Odescalchi is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "109"
Bus: 40, 60, 61, 70, 117, 170, H

As you visit 'Palazzo Odescalchi' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo dei SS.Apostoli (Piazza dei Santissimi Apostoli)

It was built on the left of the Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli in 1478 by G.da Sangallo for cardinal Giuliano Della Rovere, future Julius II. It was realized in the

The Quirinal Palace (Palazzo del Quirinale), Rome

The result of a series of adaptations that enlarged the original nucleus dating back to the end of the 15th century, the Quirinal Palace rises on one of the

Palazzo della Banca d'Italia (Palazzo Koch)/ Bank of Italy Palace

This huge Neo-classical palace was built by G.Koch in 1886-1904 for the "Banca Nazionale", which later took name of "Banca d'Italia" (Bank of Italy). It is one

Palazzo Colonna/ Galleria di Piazza Colonna (o Alberto Sordi), Rome

It was built in 1914-1920 by the project of Dario Carbone on the site of Palazzo Piombino, demolished in 1889 for the needs of enlarging of Via del Corso.

Palazzo Sciarra Colonna, Rome

It was begun in the end of the 16th century by F.Ponzio and finished by O.Torriani in 1630 for the Sciarra Colonna family. The courtyard was rearranged two