"Palazzo Patrizi, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011
After being welcomed by the marquis in person, one can visit the rooms of beautiful Palazzo Patrizi which is an ideal point of departure for a visit to the Pantheon, Palazzo Madama and Piazza Navona. It stands right in front of the Chiesa di S.Luigi dei Francesi. It is attributed to C.Maderno and a property of marquises Patrizi. At present the palace is a diplomatic seat. Inside is a little pleasant courtyard with the columns and a nice staircase.
The façade of Palazzo Patrizi was built in 1611, but there is uncertainty about the architect who designed it; at that time it belonged to Olimpia Aldobrandini, niece of Pope Clement VIII, whose stars and stripes decorate the windows. It was bought by the Patrizi in 1642. In recent years the palace was one of the first to be repainted in the light colours which prevailed in the XVIIIth century. In some cases, such as Palazzo d'Aste, XIXth century colours hid the decorative effect of pillars, frames and lintels. Palazzo Pamphilj at Piazza Navona and Palazzo Patrizi were among the first palaces where blueish colours were adopted.
Note: Closed to the public; the building is the seat of the Sovraintendenza ai Beni Ambientali ed Architettonici di Roma e del Lazio.
Piazza di San Luigi de Francesi (Piazza San Luigi dei Francese),
Via dei Funari, 12
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Sant'Angelo (Portico Ottavia-Teatro Marcello) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Patrizi is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "41"
Tel: 06 36 29 10 60, +39-06-9987399
For Direction, Bus Station, Underground Metro, Train Station, Tourist Information Points, Visit:
Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi at Piazza di San Luigi de Francesi)