Palazzo & Piazza (Historic Buildings, Squares and Streets)

House of Puppets/ Casa dei Pupazzi (Casa Crivelli o Palazzo dei Pupazzi)

This house near Palazzo Sforza Cesarini was built by a goldsmith from Milan Gian Pietro Crivelli for himself and his family, as an inscription says, in 1537-1539. It was decorated with the finest stucco works of high quality remembering decorations of not far Palazzo Capodiferro Spada. The stuccoes are in forms of little heads, little amours, nude female bodies, and other...

Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)

Via Giulia begins in the Florentine quarter of Rome. The first two buildings of the street were of great importance for the Florentine community. The Florentine quarter retains several interesting Renaissance houses; the wide spaces between the windows were decorated with graffiti paintings. At the border of the Florentine quarter in Via dei Banchi Vecchi there was a very...

Palazzo Sforza Cesarini

The first owner of this imposing construction was Rodrigo Borgia, future pope Alexander VI. After cardinal Ascanio Maria Sforza's support during the elections of Borgia, the palace passed to him. Subsequently it became of cardinals-nephews of Julius II Della Rovere. Both Sforza and Della Rovere used the palace for the functions of chancellors, that is why for a long time it...

Palazzo Gaddi

The palace was also named Palazzo Nicolini and Palazzo Amici from the names of its owners. It stands in Via del Banco di S.Spirito #42 and has a beautiful Renaissance loggia. It was probably built by Sansovino in 1530 for Roberto Strozzi. In the past it was famous for hosting Michelangelo and Annibale Caro. The palace conserves in its courtyard an important collection of...

Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)

In 1504 this palace became a seat of State Mint by the order of Julius II, author of monetary reform. The facade's construction was began by cardinal Giulio de'Medici, future pope Clement VII in 1520-1523. The design belonged to A.da Sangallo the Younger. The Mint remained here till 1541, and in 1666 it became a seat of Bank St Spirit founded by Paul V in 1605 as a financial...

Via dei Banchi Nuovi

Via dei Banchi Nuovi Creating of the street was began by Sixtus IV and it became prestigious immediately, as the members of the pontifical government were building here their residences. That is why the character of the street has a certain level and a unitary style. The first house on the left was a house of C.Maderno, who constructed it on base of two previous 15th century buildings and gave it...

Corso Vittorio Emanuele

Corso Vittorio Emanuele This is one of the main traffic arteries of Rome built in course of adaptation of the city for the functions of a capital of Italy. It serves to connect Borghi and Vatican with Piazza Venezia and Stazione Termini. It was laid out in the 80's of the 19th century, and caused destruction of some little squares, churches and palaces. A short walk from Piazza Navona and Campo de’...

Piazza della Chiesa Nuova (New Church Square)

The square in front of the Chiesa Nuova contains a Monumento al Metastasio (Pietro Trapassi), by E.Gallori, which was first erected in Piazza S.Silvestro in 1886 and transferred here because of traffic and relative closeness to the place of birth of the poet in Via dei Cappellari, near <a href="http://rometour.org/campo-dThe%20square%20in%20front%20of%20the%20%3Cstrong%3E%...

Borromini’s Oratory of Saint Phillip Neri (Oratorio dei Filippini del Borromini)/ Sala Borromini

Sala Borromini/ Borromini’s Oratory of Saint Phillip Neri The great architectural complex created by Borromini on the side of Chiesa Nuova includes Oratory and a convent with the library. The Borromini’s Oratory of Saint Phillip Neri (Oratorio dei Filippini del Borromini) is a building located in Rome and erected between 1637 and 1650 by Francesco Borromini. He belonged to the Congregation of the Oratory, founded by Philip Neri in...

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace)

Palazzo Fieschi Sora (Sora Palace) was probably erected for cardinal Fieschi in 1505 and by mistake was attributed to Bramante. The palace passed the the Boncompagni, dukes of Sora, in the epoch of pope Gregory XIII, who belonged to this family. In 1831 it was adapted to the infantry barracks, and after 1870, it was partly demolished to lay out Corso Vittorio Emanuele. The...

Piazza di Sant'Andrea della Valle & Its Fountain

The Sant'Andrea della Valle square was built in 1938 during the works over Corso del Rinascimento. The site of the old Piazza di S.Andrea remained under the tract of Corso Vittorio. The fountain in the middle of the new Piazza came here in 1957 from a disappeared square in Borghi zone and is attributed to C.Maderno. Famous Church/ Chiesa di S.Andrea della Valle is located...

Palazzo Della Valle

Palazzo Della Valle The present palace grew on the site of the medieval houses of the Valle family, which took its name from the name of this zone. Lorenzetto erected this palace for the cardinal Andrea Della Valle. The major boast of the palace is its courtyard compound of harmonious arches based on Doric columns. Cardinal Della Valle had a large collection of ancient statues and reliefs which...

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne The most ancient in Rome Massimo family was first historically documented in 999, but its splendor took place in the 15th century with Petrus de Maximis. Centuries ago the Massimo became owners of three palaces one adjoining to another. The facade is renown as one of the most masterful of its time, combining both elegance with stern rustication. The entrance is characterized...

Palazzo della Sapienza - State Archive of Rome

Palazzo della Sapienza - State Archive of Rome The first palace on this site was built in 1244, but the palace in its modern forms was begun in epoch of Julius II and Leo X in the beginning of the 16th century, with participation of Michelangelo in course of project creation. The definite remodeling is work of G.Della Porta (1575). In particular, he executed the facade and a courtyard. After some time Sixtus V had the...

Palazzo Madama - Senate of the Republic of Italy

The palace was built for the Medici in the beginning of the 16th century, but it took the name of Madama Margherita di Parma (d'Austria), a daughter of Charles V and a wife of Alessandro dei Medici (from who she obtained the palace) and afterwords of Ottavio Farnese. She lived here in 1541-1550. Among the famous personalities who had Palazzo Madama as their residence were...