Palazzo & Piazza (Historic Buildings, Squares and Streets)

Corso del Rinascimento

This ample street was laid out on the site of two rows of houses demolished specially for it, and was open to traffic in 1938. The buildings reconstructed on both sides of the street, under direction of Arnaldo Foschini, and the facade of the Convent and Chiesa di S.Giacomo degli Spagnoli represent a modern character of architecture that intended to reproduce the look of past...

Five Moons Square (Piazza delle Cinque Lune)

Five Moons Square (Piazza delle Cinque Lune) is next to Piazza Navona. This square was received as a result of the arrangement of the zone in course of creation of Corso del Rinascimento. It remembers a street, a square and a fried food shop, all bearing the name "Cinque Lune", i.e. "Five Moons", derived from the coat-of-arms of the Piccolomini family (a cross with five...

Via dei Coronari Street

The tract of this beautiful Renaissance street is nearly 500m long and leads from Piazza Navona & connected Piazza Colonna with the River Tiber and the most important buildings, squares and Baroque churches of the city, such as the Santa Maria della Pace Church, with Rosso Fiorentino, Raffaello and Pietro da Cortona masterpieces or the Sant'Agostino Church, with works of...

Palazzo Lancellotti

entrance of Palazzo Lancellotti The palace was erected on the site of other constructions, in the end of the 16th century, by the order of Cardinal Scipione Lancellotti. The project belonged to F.da Volterra and C.Maderno. Domenichino created the main door with the columns supporting a balcony. It was one of the Roman palaces where a Roman noble family closed itself for the period between 1970 until 1929, as...

Palazzo Chiovenda

This palace is attributed to the project of B.Peruzzi, but it is more likely the successful imitation of the great artistic models. It is characterized by the ashlar basement, not big main entrance in the center, two floors on Ionic and Corinthian pilasters giving an impression of lightness and space. Address: Palazzo Chiovenda Piazza di Montevecchio (Vicolo di Montevecchio...

Palazzo Tanari

Palazzo Tanari It is adjoined to the complex of the palace Orsini. Palazzo Tanari was built in the 17th century and belonged to the Tanari family, relatives of of the Orsini family. The palace was acquired in the middle of the 19th century by a great engraver from Ravenna Luigi Rossini, who left an important documentation of the views of Rome and its life. The palace has a high loggia with a...

Palazzo Gambirasi

entrance of Palazzo Gambirasi It was built by the Arch-confraternity of S.Giacomo degli Spagnoli. The project was edited in 1659 by G.A.De Rossi. Soon the palace passed to the prelate from Bergamo, Donato Gambirasi. At present it belongs to the Teutonic Institutes of S.Maria dell'Anima. On July 7, 1657, the rich merchant Donato Gambirasi from Bergamo acquired several houses and a palazzo in the...

Teatro Pace

In the buildings #1/a and #3 on Via del Teatro Pace once a theatre was located. It was founded in the end of the 17th century, and functioned in 1720-1853. It was mostly performing musical operas with famous "sopranos", famous emasculates destined to the singing and theatre, because women-actresses didn't exist. In 1754 in the theatre were performed comedies of C.Goldoni. In...

Palazzo Nardini (Via Del Governo Vecchio Street)

The palace was built for the cardinal from Milan Stefano Nardini in 1473-1477, made governor of Rome by Sixtus IV. In that period this zone was very popular among the members of curia, who preferred to build their residences here. Cardinal Nardini donated his palace to Spedale di S. Giovanni in Laterano; in 1624 Pope Urban VIII acquired the building to house the offices of...

Palazzo Braschi - Seat of Museo di Roma (Museum of Rome)

This was the last palace in Rome erected for the papal family, and is one of the most imposing constructions of the pontifical Rome. Palazzo Braschi was built by C.Morelli for the duke Luigi Braschi-Onesti, nephew of Pius VI, on the site of Palazzo Orsini, which was built by Francesco Orsini in the beginning of the 15th century. A magnificent great staircase is work of G....

Palazzo Pamphilj (Pamphili), Brazilian Embassy in Rome

Palazzo Pamphilj (Pamphili), Brazilian Embassy in Rome Palazzo Pamphilj, also spelled Palazzo Pamphili was built for the Pamphili family by G.Rainaldi, who incorporated in the palace the houses of the family and a church of S.Agnese. The works continued from 1644 till 1650. Interior of the palace is rich with paintings and stuccoes; but an important collection of the antique statues was lost. Of exceptional interest is a long...

Collegio Innocenziano (College of Innocent) on Piazza Navona

The Collegio Innocenziano (College of Innocent) is a part of a great complex construction created by the Pamphili on Piazza Navona, located on the right of the church of St Agnes. It was built by Borromini in 1654, on the site of demolished Palazzo Rivaldi. The College of Innocent, whose name comes from Pope Innocent X Pamphilj, was constructed during his pontificate (1644-...

Palazzo De Cupis on Piazza Navona

windows of Palazzo De Cupis, Piazza Navona Originally it was a house built in the second half of the 15th century and belonged to Bernardino De Cupis. Later it was inhabited by cardinal Ascanio Sforza. In 1520 cardinal Giandomenico De Cupis enlarged his property adjoining the houses of close German Hospice. Centuries before, the facade on Piazza Navona was probably all frescoed. Inside there are two courtyards in old...

Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti (Lancellotti Palace)

Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti (Lancellotti Palace), Piazza Navona Palazzo Torres Massimo Lancellotti (Lancellotti Palace, also known as de Torres) was built for the Spanish family Torres by P.Ligorio in 1560. The palace is irregular and has ten sides with the longest one on Via della Posta Vecchia. The main facades are one the Piazza Navona and Via della Cuccagna. The windows on the noble floor are of the 15th century type, while in the rest...

Casa dei Crescenzi - Now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo)

What is now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo) are the rests of ex-tower erected by a powerful Crescenzi family in the 10th century to control the opposite side of the river. The materials for its construction were taken from other more ancient monuments. The name of Cola di Rienzo was given to it because of its close position to the Regola district,...