Palazzo & Piazza (Historic Buildings, Squares and Streets)

Testaccio Stadium (Vecchio Campo Testaccio)

Testaccio Stadium (Campo Testaccio) was a multi-use stadium in Rome, Italy. It was initially used as the stadium of A.S. Roma matches. It was replaced by Stadio Nazionale PNF in 1940. This ample zone was a part of famous recreation territory "Prati del Popolo Romano", and several decades ago was a soccer-camp, one of the first camps among those where the new game imported...

Campidoglio Square (Piazza del Campidoglio)

In the Middle Ages, on this part of the city a big market and a political center of Rome were settled. The latter, till our days, is distinguished by four letters "SPQR: Senatus Populus Que Romaus". The present look of this place was created by the project of Michelangelo, who made of it one of the most beautiful squares in Rome. He ingeniously made use of a little space and...

Palazzo Senatorio

Palazzo Senatorio (Town Council) is the central palace in Piazza del Campidogio. Its name derives from the fact that it was a seat of Roman Senate till 1870, when became the official seat of Comune di Roma and the Mayor of Rome. On the remains of the ancient Tabularium in the 11th century was built a fortress by the Corsi, and the Senate was probably installed here in 1143....

Curators Palace/ Palazzo dei Conservatori (Museums, Apartment, Gallery)

The palace was rebuilt by Nicolas V in the middle of the 15th century and remodeled after 1563-1568 by G.Della Porta and G.Guidetti from a design by Michelangelo. It was a seat of Professional Corporations (of druggists, vendors of fabrique, slaughters, etc.) and a of a Municipality. The name "conservatori" reminds about three members of the municipality of the city, chosen...

Capitoline Museums (Musei Capitolini) and Palazzo Nuovo (New Palace)

Palazzo Nuovo (New Palace) Palazzo Nuovo (New Palace) is on the left of the Piazza del Campidoglio. It was built according to a project of Michelangelo in 1603-1655 (Clement VIII - Alexander VII, who's coat-of-arms is above the entrance by Girolamo and Carlo Rainaldi. Palazzo Nuovo contains the Museo Capitolino, an extremely interesting collection of ancient sculpture, begun...

Climbing the Campidoglio (Capitoline Hill)

In the ancient epoch the way leading to the Capitoline Hill was made of step slope of a rock, on which a group of houses stood. The side street Via delle Tre Pile was open in 1692 by Innocent XII Pignatelli. The so called House of Michelangelo was located on it, but now its reconstruction is in the beginning of the Passeggiata del Gianicolo. Campidoglio (Capitoline Hill) or...

Palazzo Caffarelli

Charles V in occasion of his visit to Rome in 1536 gave to the Caffarelli an exclusive right to build a private residence on the Capitoline Hill. Thus, Palazzo Caffarelli was built in 1584, many times demolished and rearranged, and in 1854 passed to the Prussia and became a symbolic residence of German emperor on the Capitoline hill. After the WWI the palace was acquired by...

Curia Julia (Senate House) and Lapis Niger

The big stone construction of Curia Julia was brought to the light in the 30's of this century after the 7th century church Chiesa di S.Adriano, erected over it, was destroyed. During the Roman Republic, Roman senators met together in their senate house, which was known as the curia, a building whose history predates the Republic. Caesar built it to substitute demolished by...

Via Sacra (Sacred Road)

This is the oldest street in Rome, and it crosses the whole of the Forum. This Via Sacra (Sacred Road) in the Roman Forum/ Forum Romanum (Foro Romano) was the path followed by the victorious leader (dux) through the Forum towards the Capitol. It was called Sacra because according to the legend it was covered by Romolus and Titus Tatius after entering the pact of alliance at...

Roman Forum or Forum Romanum (Foro Romano)

The Roman Forum/ Forum Romanum (Foro Romano) occupies the plain zone between three hills: Palatine, Capitoline and Quirinal. Its birth corresponds to aggregation of the new hills and villages around it, which made necessary creation of the place of commercial, political and cultural exchange. They have chosen this site after it was reclaimed by construction of the Cloaca...

Palace of Tiberius and Caligula (Palazzo di Tiberio e di Caligola)

At the north-west end of the Palatine Hill are the ruins of the Palace of Tiberius and Caligula (Palazzo di Tiberio e di Caligola), built in the 1st century AD. These impressive imperial constructions once occupied the greatest part of Germalo, i.e. one of three summits of the Palatine Hill. The gardens of Farnese are spread over the underground territories of these palaces,...

The complex of Palazzo di Domiziano (Domitian Palace) on the Palatine Hill

In the last years of the 1st century after Christ, the south eastern area of the Palatino hill sees the construction of the large quarter of the Domizianei palaces with the complexes of the "Stadium of Domiziano", of the "Domus Flavia" and of the "Domus Augustana". It occupies nearly the whole of the Palatine Hill and consists of a number of buildings that were planned by...

Palace of Septimius Severus (Settimio Severo/ Domus Severiana) on the Palatine Hill

On entering the complex from Via di San Gregorio, head uphill on the Palatine Hill until you come to the first recognizable construction, the Stadium of Domitian (Stadio di Domiziano). Adjoining the stadium are the scant remains of the complex built by Septimius Severus, comprising baths (Terme di Settimio Severo) and a palace (Domus Severiana ). Palace of Septimius Severus/...

Via dei Cerchi Street

This street was arranged by Sixtus V on the site of previous little road, which was passing through the steps of the Circus Maximus, from which the name of Via dei Cerchi derives (cerchi = circles). On this street many centuries ago was a church Oratorio di S.Maria dei Cerchi, as well as some other religious and functional constructions. At present this street is open to...

Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione

The Arch-confraternity of S.Maria in Portico della Consolazione e delle Grazie managing the Ospedale della Consolazione, the hospital built in 1470 adjoining the church with the same name, was founded in 1506. It had as a property a piece of territory of the Roman Forum, from which it had a right to derive marbles and other building materials for its hospital and other needs...