Palazzo & Piazza (Historic Buildings, Squares and Streets)

Arch of Janus (Arco di Giano)

It was probably a honorary arch dedicated to emperor Constantine and built in the 4th century using the fragments from the other constructions. In the Middle Ages it was turned into a base of the fortified fortress by the Frangipani family. But in 1830 it was returned its original look, with the exception of the attic, which was destroyed by mistake, taken for a part of the...

Palazzo Diaconale

This palace stands on Via della Greca at the side of Chiesa di S.Maria in Cosmedin. Pope St Nicolas I, who conducted restoration and decoration works of the church, built by its side well fortified pontifical palace. It was fortified with an external wall for fear of raids by the Saracens; later on it was converted into a small monastery and some of the rooms were assigned to...

Palazzo Pantanella at Piazza Bocca della Verità

Palazzo Pantanella It was built in 1878-1881 as a seat of the Societa' dei Molini e Pastificio Pantanella (Society of Mills and Bread-making Pantanella). It was an appropriate site for an organization like this one because of close position to the water mills placed on Tiber and industrial zone of Circus Maximus. The Mitreo of Circus Maximus was discovered in the underground of this former pasta...

Piazza Bocca della Verità and Its Fountain

Piazza Bocca della Verità is one of the most characteristic places in Rome corresponding to the Foro Boario, one of the most beautiful buildings of Republican Rome. Here is the temple of Fortuna Virile, an example of Greek-Italian architecture, built around 100 BC; and the Temple of Vesta (so called because is similar to the temple of Vesta in the Roman Forum) built in the...

Skanderbeg Monument at Piazza Albania

The monument was erected in 1940, by Romanelli, in course of particular political relations between Italy and Albania. It represents a national hero of Albania Giorgio Castriota, named Scanderbeg, i.e. Alexander the Great, who sojourned in Rome for a period of time with the aim to ask for help to Paul II against the Turks. The Equestrian horseman statue portraying the...

Palazzo della FAO - Food and Agriculture Organisation

This is a big white modern palace which starting from 1950 houses the F.A.O (Food and Agriculture Organization), an international organization of United Nations, and somehow an inheritor of the International Institute of Agriculture, founded by David Lubin in Rome in 1905. Entrusted by Mussolini to house the Ministry of Italian Africa, the palace was planned in 1938 by the...

Axum Obelisk and Piazza di Porta Capena (Porta Capena Square)

Axum Obelisk and Piazza di Porta Capena This Axum Obelisk (Obelisco di Axum) was moved here from a saint Ethiopian city (Axum) in 1937 as a trophy of the colonial company of Italy in Eastern Africa. It dates from the 4th century and is 24 meters high. Piazza di Porta Capena is a vast flat area among the offshoots of the Caelian, the Palatine and the Aventine hills. It owes its name to the ancient door that lead to...

Casina "La Vignola" at Porta Capena

Porta Capena was a gate in the Servian Wall near Caelian Hill, in Rome, formerly a sacred forest where Numa Pompilius and Egeria met. Porta Capena square (Piazza di Porta Capena) also hosts the FAO headquarters and the Casino La Vignola Boccapaduli. Casina "La Vignola" is a gracious construction built in the 15th century for the Vigna Boccapaduli. It was transferred here as...

Via di San Gregorio (San Gregorio Street)

This street was laid out over the tract of ancient Via Triumphalis, between Celian hill (Celio) and Palatine Hills. The Palatine hill (Palatino) overlooking the Roman Forum is home to a number of palaces dating from the 1st century AD. Passing the gigantic Arch of Constantine across Via di San Gregorio you will find the "back exit" to the Roman Forum. Its present look was...

Colosseum or Flavian Amphitheatre (Anfiteatro Flavio o Colosseo)

It took only eight years to erect the greatest monument of ancient Rome. Its original name is Flavian Amphitheatre, because of the form of the construction as an amphitheatre and because it was built by emperors of the Flavian dynasty: Vespasian, Titus and Domitian. Vespasian begun it in 72 A.D., Titus completed the works in 80 A.D. and Domitian added the higher steps and some...

Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) And Tower of Annibaldi

Nymphaeum (Monumental Fountain) of Annibaldi A nymphaeum (monumental fountain) of Annibaldi [Ninfeo degli degli Annibaldi] dated back to the end of the first century BC and the beginning of the first century AD was discovered in 1895 during the works for the realization of Via degli Annibaldi. It was part of a house that was destroyed later to make room for the construction of the Domus Aurea by Nero. The monument today...

Via Merulana Street

It was open by Gregory XIII for the Holy Year 1575 and was originally named Via Gregoriana. The present name has a popular origin referring to the Merula family which had some territory possessions in this zone, or to the embattled (merlati) buildings once located here. Sixtus V used this street for his project of connection of the Roman Basilicas. Via Merulana is Situated...

Via Labicana Street

Via Labicana Street The name of this street derives from an ancient Via Labicana, a part of which tract corresponds to the modern Via Labicana. The old road connected Porta Maggiore and Labico (now Montecompatri). On the side of the street corresponding to the Baths of Titus was found Mausoleum of the Ateri, where Quintius Aterius, a great architect of ancient epoch, who projected Colosseum and...

Piazza (Square) San Giovanni in Laterano and Its Fountain

Previously the Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano (Via di S.Giovanni in Laterano) street was named " Strada maggiore o sacra o papalis" because it was used for processions of the popes in direction of Vatican. It was rearranged by Sixtus V in the 16th century and before the 20th century it was bordered only by the building adjoining to the Hospital of S.Giovanni, churches and...

Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain

The Celio (Caelius) Military Hospital near the Coloseum occupies the territory of destroyed in 1888 Villa Casali. Centuries ago on this zone was a military establishment and an important medieval hospital S.Stefano in Formis. The modern hospital is compound of pavilions and was built according to a project of Salvatore Bianchi in 1885-1891. The Caelian hill, originally known...