Palazzo & Piazza (Historic Buildings, Squares and Streets)

Palazzo Sciarra Colonna, Rome

Inside the interior of Palazzo Sciarra Colonna, Rome It was begun in the end of the 16th century by F.Ponzio and finished by O.Torriani in 1630 for the Sciarra Colonna family. The courtyard was rearranged two centuries later by Settimi. Maffeo Sciarra had the palace enlarged and adjoined Galleria Sciarra (architect Giulio De Angelis) entirely frescoed and a Teatro Quirino. Foundation’s (Fondazione Roma) offices are located in...

Palazzo Carpegna/ Accademia di San Luca (Academy of Saint Luke Gallery), Rome

National Academy of Saint Luke Gallery, Rome It was erected by a pupil of G.Della Porta in the end of the 16th century - beginning of the 17th century for the Vaini family. Later it passed to the Carpegna, who had it enlarged by Borromini. At present the palace is a seat of Accademia di S.Luca, which moved here after its historical seat in the palace adjoining Chiesa dei SS.Luca e Martina on Roman Forum was destroyed in...

Palazzo Poli (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics), Rome

Palazzo Poli (Istituto Nazionale per la Grafica, rome), Rome Palazzo Poli's construction was finished in the 18th century in modest but pleasant architecture. The palace was ordered to M.Longhi in 1573 by the Anguillara. With this goal the architect transformed a former palace of Baldovino Del Monte, brother of Julius III. Afterwards Palazzo Poli passed to the Borromeo and finally was acquired by Lucrezia Colonna, who married Giuseppe...

Palazzo della Stamperia (Printing House), right side of Trevi Fountain, Rome

Palazzo della Stamperia (Printing House), right side of Trevi Fountain, Rome Palazzo della Stamperia (Printing House) was erected in the end of the 16th century by G.Del Duca for cardinal Luigi Cornaro. In 1642 it passed to Olimpia Maidalchini Pamphili (sister-in-law of Pope Innocent X), who enlarged it. It is therefore also called Palazzo Cornaro Pamphilj. In 1777 the palace was acquired by Pius VI to place here the Roman Printing-shop, suppressed in...

Palazzo Margherita (Now USA Embassy), Rome

Palazzo Margherita, the U.S. Embassy in Rome At present the palace is occupied by the seat of USA Embassy (USA Diplomatic Mission to Italy). It was erected in 1886-1890 by G.Koch for the Boncompagni Ludovisi, who, after their Palazzo Piombino on Piazza Colonna was destroyed, decided to move their residence to the new construction. It was the residence of Margaret of Savoy, King Humbert I's wife (hence the name). It was...

Palazzo dell'INA/ Ina Assitalia S.p.a (Former: Istituto Nazionale Assicurazioni - INA), Rome

Ina Assitalia S.p.a (Former INA), Rome The palace Palazzo dell'INA/ Ina Assitalia S.p.a (Former: Istituto Nazionale Assicurazioni - INA) [National Insurance Institute] was built in 1923-1927 by Ugo Giovannozzi. The territory on which it was built belonged to Villa Massimo-Colonna. It is a very large construction with some baroque elements. The building, like the other at the opposite side of the square, was...

Palazzo del Ministero dell'Industria e Commercio, Rome

The palace of Ministry of Industry and Trade was built in 1929-1932 by M.Piacentini and G.Vaccaro on the site of a large garden of the Capuchins. It was one of the first innovative projects searching the maximum functional comfort for the Public offices. Guided Tours: Free guided tour. Guided tours to Palazzo dell'Industria - Ministero dello Sviluppo Economico; Booking...

Palazzo Barberini, Triton & Api Fountain In Piazza Barberini, Rome

The original name of this square was "Piazza Grimana", taken from cardinal Grimani, who's vine-yards and villa were in this zone. When the Barberini acquired their palace here, the square's name changed. While the first one is still in the middle of Piazza, the Fountain of the Bees (heraldic symbol of the Barberini) was demolished after 1870 to give way for the traffic of Via...

Palazzo Barberini - National Gallery of Ancient Art

Palazzo Barberini ceiling, rome This is an ancient "Casa grande dei Barberini", the first palace of the noble family. Maffeo Barberini, the future pope Urban VIII, who lived here in 1600-1623, had this palace enlarged by F.Ponzio. Seccessively the Barberini, even though occupied in construction of the new one, improved conditions of their old palace as well. In 1734 it passed to a religious order of...

Palazzo del Grand Hotel (Le Grand Hotel - St. Regis), Rome

architecture Inside The St. Regis hotel, Rome It was open on January 10, 1894 with a great celebration of this event. The Grand Hotel was built by Giulio Podesti for an important International hotel corporation, owner of Savoy Hotel in London and of Hotel Ritz in Paris. Cesar Ritz himself and a famous chief-cook A.Escoffier personally collaborated on organization and beginning of work of the new hotel. For its...

Corso d'Italia

This road was laid out in the end of the 19th century - beginning of the 20th century. Among the constructions standing along Corso d'Italia is Chiesa di S.Teresa with the annexed convent, built by the project of Tullio Passarelli in 1901 in Romanesque-Lombard style. The church is noted for grandiose interior with the nave and two aisles, and sumptuous decorations. In 1960...

Palazzo Albani Del Drago

Palazzo Albani Del Drago was built by D.Fontana for Muzio Mattei. In the beginning of the 18th century it passed to the Albani, who had it enlarged by A.Specchi. The latter also erected a little tower from which opens a panoramic view on the city. Cardinal Alessandro Albani made the palace a center of culture and antics, joining here an important library, which was lost in...

Palazzo del Ministero della Difesa (Ministry of Defence)

Palazzo del Ministero della Difesa (Ministry of Defence) was born as a "Ministry of War" in the palace reconstructed and adapted for this needs in 1882-1885 by Durand de la Penne of the previous monastery delle barberine. There were also destroyed three churches: S.Caio, S.Teresa and SS.Incarnazione, all of them were of significant historical importance. In front of the...

Palazzo delle Esposizioni

La sala Cinema at Palazzo delle Esposizioni, rome It was built by the project of P.Piacentini in 1878-1882 and opened in 1883. As an important exhibition center, due to a danger of collapse in 1986, it has been radically restored, and a new system of illumination has been installed. The palace was reopened to public in 1990. The Palazzo delle Esposizioni is the largest multidisciplinary exhibition center in Rome’s downtown...

Palazzo del Quirinale (Quirinal Palace)

Palazzo del Quirinale (Quirinal Palace) Before the palace was built here this site was occupied by a villa created by Ippolito II d'Este, who was a great specialist in villas and had a famous Villa d'Este in Tivoli built. His Roman villa was located on the territory which belonged to the Carafa and rented to him. In 1583-1585 Gregory XIII had the works over the new palace begun by O.Mascherino and M.Longhi. The...