Palazzo & Piazza (Historic Buildings, Squares and Streets)

Piazza del Quirinale (Quirinale Square)

Caster & Pollux obelisk in the middle of Piazza del Quirinale It occupies the summit of the Quirinal (60m), one of the Seven Hills of Rome. The square's creation was begun by Gregory XIII in the end of the 16th century. Previously this space was occupied by a Convent of Benedictines of St Paul, destroyed by Paul V, and by constructions of the Colonna, who's property arrived nearly to the facade of the Palazzo del Quirinale. Pope Urban...

Palazzina del Quirinale

Palazzina del Quirinale It was built in 1730-1732 by F.Fuga for Clement XII as an architectonic element concluding the long monotone part of the Quirinal, "Manica lunga". Its creation caused reconstruction of previous palace used for the residence of the Commander of the Swiss Guard. The long building (a barracks for the Swiss Guard) described by Vasi is called Manica Lunga (Long Sleeve) and as Vasi...

Palazzo delle Scuderie/ Scuderie del Quirinale/ Quirinal or Papal Stables

Palazzo delle Scuderie/ Scuderie del Quirinale/ Quirinal or Papal Stables After the Palazzo del Quirinale was finished the necessity to create the square in front of it appeared. In 1722 Innocent XIII ordered A.Specchi construction of a palace in that part of the square where it bordered Giardino Colonna. It was adapted for the guard barracks and horse stables. The new palace was completed under Clement XII by F.Fuga. A part of it was destroyed in...

Palazzo della Consulta (Constitutional Court/ Corte Costituzionale)

This elegant beautiful palace was erected by order of Clement XII with the goal to make an adequate conclusion of the space around the Palazzo del Quirinale. It was built on the site of a modest construction, which in its turn stood on the ruins of the Baths of Constantine, and was adapted by Sixtus V for the seat of Consulta, i.e. one of 15 Congregations reordered by this...

Palazzo della Banca d'Italia (Palazzo Koch)/ Bank of Italy Palace

Palazzo della Banca d'Italia (Palazzo Koch)/ Bank of Italy Palace This huge Neo-classical palace was built by G.Koch in 1886-1904 for the "Banca Nazionale", which later took name of "Banca d'Italia" (Bank of Italy). It is one of the most imposing constructions erected in the epoch of the birth of the so called "Third Rome" (Rome as the capital of Italy). It stands behind a row of palm trees and colossal lamp-posts. The National Bank of...

Palazzo del Viminale (Viminal Palace) - Italian Ministry of Interior

It was built by the project of Manfredo Manfredi in 1914-1918. In 1920 the Council of Ministers and Ministry of the Interior moved here from Palazzo Braschi. At present it is occupied only by the Ministry of the Interior. The square in front of it was created in 1931 when the Palazzo dell'Istituto di anatomia was destroyed. The building hosting the Italian Ministry of...

Palazzo Colonna, Villa Colonna & Galleria (Gallery) Colonna

Main Courtyard of Palazzo Colonna (Colonna Palace) Villa Colonna is not big villa was placed on the slopes of the Quirinal Hill, on the rests of the Temple of Serapide built in 1730 by architect Nicola Michetti. Its remains were used by the Colonna for their medieval fortifications. The Palazzo Colonna & villa and its constructions were seriously reduced in the 16th-17th centuries by popes, who wouldn't like such a...

Palazzo Muti and Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri)

Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri), rome, italy Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri) Palazzo Balestra (Palazzo Muti Papazzurri) is a Baroque palazzo in Rome. Palazzo Balestra (Balestra palace) is located at the north end of Piazza dei Santi Apostoli (no. 49). It was formerly called Palazzo Muti-Papazurri (and sometimes Palazzo dei Santi Apostoli or Palazzo Stuart). It was built in 1660 by the architect Mattia de'...

Palazzo Mellini

It is on the left of Chiesa di S.Marcello al Corso with the entrance from Via dell'Umilta. It was built in the 18th century by Tomaso De Marchis who embellished it with nice windows which represent a summary of baroque motifs for cardinal Mario Mellini on the original palace of Venetian cardinal Michiel, nephew of Paul II. It was for a long time a residence of the cardinals...

Palazzo dei SS.Apostoli (Piazza dei Santissimi Apostoli)

It was built on the left of the Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli in 1478 by G.da Sangallo for cardinal Giuliano Della Rovere, future Julius II. It was realized in the forms of nearby Palazzo Venezia. There are two exceptionally elegant courtyards inside, the first of them has portico on the Ionic columns and loggias on two sides; the second one is in form of a cloister also with the...

Palazzo Odescalchi

Palazzo Odescalchi In the Middle Ages the area of the present palace was occupied by another one, Palazzo dei Benzoni, which was transformed by C.Maderno, and in 1665 completely reconstructed by G.L.Bernini for cardinal Fabio Chigi (future Alexander VII). In 1745 it passed to the Odeschalchi. The prince Baldassare Odeschalchi had it enlarged in the 18th century, with the participation of N.Salvi...

Palazzo Salviati

Palazzo Salviati Takes its name after a noble Florentine family which in 1554-64 made it built. The architect was Nanni de Baccio Bogio. Here was a residence of numerous cardinals and prelates till the end of 18th century. In the 19th century it was the seat of the Pontific government archives; later it hosted the Military Court and Military College of Rome. Now it is a seat of various...

Palazzo Bonaparte (now Palazzo Misciatelli/ oggi Misciatelli)

Palazzo Bonaparte (now Palazzo Misciatelli) stands at the end of the Via del Corso nearest Piazza Venezia. Across the way is the Palazzo Salviati, owned in the 19th by Louis Bonaparte. Lying at the centre of Rome, Piazza Venezia is bordered by palaces; on the north side stands the Palazzo Bonaparte, where Napoleon's mother died in 1836. The Palazzo Doria Pamphili, one of Rome'...

Via del Plebiscito, Rome

Via del Plebiscito, Rome Previously it was called Via del Gesu', because was connecting Piazza Venezia and Piazza del Gesu'. The present name derives from the plebiscite of October 2, 1870, when the majority of Romans said "yes" to the unification of Rome with the kingdom of Italy. Apart from the name, nothing else had changed for this street. One of the two entrance of Palazzo Doria Pamphilj is in...

Palazzo Altieri

Palazzo Altieri The construction of the palace was begun in 1650 for cardinal Giambattista Altieri by G.A.De Rossi, and was continued by wish of cardinal's brother, cardinal Emilio, future pope Clement X. Because of the fact that the male line of the Altieri family was under the danger of extinction, Clement X adopted entire family of the husband of his grand-daughter, the ancient Roman...