Palazzo Poli (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics), Rome

"Palazzo Poli (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011

Palazzo Poli (Istituto Nazionale per la Grafica, rome), Rome

Palazzo Poli's construction was finished in the 18th century in modest but pleasant architecture. The palace was ordered to M.Longhi in 1573 by the Anguillara. With this goal the architect transformed a former palace of Baldovino Del Monte, brother of Julius III. Afterwards Palazzo Poli passed to the Borromeo and finally was acquired by Lucrezia Colonna, who married Giuseppe Conti, duke of Poli in 1712 (from where the name of the palace is derived). In 1816-1837 it was a residence of famous Roman poet G.G.Belli, who wrote here his most successful works. At the same period Zenaida Wolkonskaia held here her famous literary hall, where the most eminent Roman and foreign personalities of that epoch were invited. The new urbanistic plan of this zone brought many changes in 1884, including Palazzo Poli, which aspect and form were changed. There is a project according to which the palace is to be turned into a seat of Istituto Nazionale per la Grafica (National Institute for Graphics).

Palazzo Poli
The National Institute of Chalcography (Istituto Nazionale per la Grafica - Calcografia) is an inheritor of Roman Chalcography instituted in 1738 by Clement XII, after he acquired an enormous quantity of copperplates of Calcografia De Rossi. It is the most important collection of copperplate engravings in the world. It contains almost all the works of G.B.Piranesi (1432 plates) and examples of the work of M.Raimondi, B.Pinelli, and many others. It has a total of more than 22,000 plates from the 16th until the 20th century.

After it moved from one temporary seat to another, the Chalcography settled in the palace of Stamperia Camerale in the end of the 18th century. The director of the Calcography in the beginning of the 19th century was G.Valadier, who's son, Luigi, erected in 1837 the present palace of Chalcography on the site of other constructions annexed to the Palazzo della Stamperia. Apart from limited re-printing of the engravings, the national Chalcography organizes exhibitions where the copies of the originals can be purchased. The institute was merged with the Gabinetto Nazionale delle Stampe (National Cabinet of Prints) in 1975 as the National Institute of Graphics, which is planned to move in Palazzo Poli.
Palazzo della Calcografia Nazionale /Istituto Nazionale per la Grafica (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics)
The chalcographic collection originates from the collection of the De Rossi family, printers that operated in the seventeenth century Roman environment. The Chalcography became Royal in 1870 and National when the Republic was born and it is currently located in the nineteenth century Palace designed by Valadier. It keeps 23,000 matrixes that span from the sixteenth to the twentieth century. In addition to the De Rossi Fund, there are works by Canova, Camuccini, Volpato, Carrà, and Morandi. Two thousand copper plates are produced by great engravers, such as Piranesi and Ingres. Prints, engraving tools, machinery, and ancient presses are also exhibited. The printing office is still active, although it does not work continually as it used to. The Institute also has an archive of documents and photographs and an historical photographic library that includes the most representative artists in the history of the Italian Photography in the nineteenth century. Both the Chalcography and the Cabinet of Drawings and Prints, currently housed in the Villa Farnesina alla Lungara, should be reunited in the new location of Palazzo Poli, always in the Trevi district.

Address:
Palazzo Poli (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics)
Via della Stamperia, 6 (Piazza dei Crociferi, 53)
Palazzo Poli - Via Poli, 54
Near Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain), Piazza di Trevi
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Poli (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "59"
Hours: Every day 9am-1pm, Tuesday and Thursday 9am-1pm and 2.30pm-4.30pm, Closed Saturday and Sunday
Tel.: ++39 6 69980242 - ++39 6 69980257, 0039 06 699801
Fax: ++39 6 69921454
Email: i...@beniculturali.it
Web site: http://www.grafica.arti.beniculturali.it/home.htm

To Reach Palazzo Poli (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics):

Find Nearby Bus Station, Train Station, Underground Metro Stations, Tourist Information Points of Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain) at Piazza di Trevi

Getting To Palazzo Poli at Via Poli (Via della Stamperia/ Piazza dei Crociferi) From Fontana di Trevi/ Trevi Fountain (Piazza di Trevi):
Departure from roma piazza di trevi , 1
walk 150 meters
to roma via poli , 1
distance covered (metres) 150 meters.

As you visit 'Palazzo Poli (National Chalcography Institute for Graphics), Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo della Stamperia (Printing House), right side of Trevi Fountain, Rome

Palazzo della Stamperia (Printing House) was erected in the end of the 16th century by G.Del Duca for cardinal Luigi Cornaro. In 1642 it passed to Olimpia

Via del Tritone near Trevi Fountain, Rome

The street was created according to the new plan of urbanistic arrangement of this zone of 1881. It connects Piazza Colonna and Piazza Barberini, and is

Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain), Rome

Fontana di Trevi (Trevi Fountain) is one of the most famous sights of Rome, and of the most successful monuments built in Rome in the 18th century. The

National Roman Museum - Palazzo Massimo

The palace was built in 1887 by architect Camillo Pistrucci according to the wish of Jesuit Massimiliano Massimo (1849-1911) who destined it for the seat of

National Central Library of Rome (Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale)

The National Library Vittorio Emanuele II, was founded in 1873, it contains the funds of circa 70 suppressed convents and was transferred here from the old