Palazzo Ricci

"Palazzo Ricci" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 2nd June 2011

Two facades of the palace facing the square in front of it have an extraordinary characteristics: they are covered by the paintings by P.da Caravaggio executed before 1525. The paintings, nearly not visible now, were re-depicted in th 19th century; they were dedicated to some Roman stories. The other similar paintings were in the courtyard, where are still conserved the ancient marbles. The other examples of depicted houses are very few in Rome.

Palazzo Ricci, Via Giulia
Palazzo Ricci is one of the most interesting Renaissance palaces of Rome, owing to the paintings which decorate it. Orazio Ricci, a member of the family, bought a modest house near Piazza di Pasquino, but this was not an obstacle to placing on it his name and his heraldic symbol (a hedgehog, in Italian riccio).

The palace had a lot of owners. The cardinal Giulio Ricci acquired it in 1577, moving here from the Palazzo Saccheti.

Apart from the churches described in the specific page, in Via Giulia there are sumptuous palazzi, like the Palazzo Sacchetti, and the Palazzo Donatelli-Ricci is situated. Owned by the Sacchetti, a Florentine family, the former palazzo was built by Nanni di Baccio Bigio. The Cardinal's Audience Hall, on the first floor, was decorated by Francesco Salviati. In the above map of 1693, Via Giulia (running from left to right) is seen from the Tiber. The Palazzo Sacchetti and the Donatelli-Ricci, behind it, can be singled out. They are bound by the Authority for the Environmental and Architectural properties. The paintings of Palazzo Ricci were recently restored: they show episodes of the history of Ancient Rome.

Note: Closed to the public; the building is visible only from the outside.

Address:
Palazzo Ricci
Via Giulia, 146
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Ricci is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "10"
Bus: 116 - 116T

As you visit 'Palazzo Ricci' you may also like following articles . . .

Ricci, Sebastiano (1659-1734)

Sebastiano Ricci, Italian painter, was born in Belluno in 1659 and died in Venice in 1734. In 1680 Ricci moved from Venice, where was a pupil of S.Mazzoni, to

Palazzo Sacchetti

Next after Sangallo Medici Clarelli Palace (Palazzo) is Palazzo Sacchetti. There are some difficulties in attribution of this building; even thought the

Palazzo Giustiniani (Palazzo Madama, Italian Parliament/Senato Della Repubblica), Rome

It was built on the area of the Baths of Alexander in the end of the 16th century by G.Fontana for the Giustiniani family. Construction was finished by

Palazzo Mattei (Palazzo Mattei di Giove & Palazzo Mattei Paganica)

The Mattei family occupied the zone between Via dei Funari, Piazza delle Tartarughe, Via Paganica, Via delle Botteghe Oscure, and Via Gaetani in the middle of

Sangallo Medici Clarelli Palace (Palazzo)

Next building after the church of S.Giovanni dei Fiorentini is a palace, which A.da Sangallo built for himself in times when Leo X gave an impulse to embellish