Palazzo Rondanini Sanseverino, Rome

"Palazzo Rondanini Sanseverino, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011

It was built in 1744-1748 for baron Rondanini on the site of the other construction, which was created by F.Ponzio and belonged to an artist Cavalier d'Arpino. After 1760 the new palace was enlarged by G.Valvassori in direction of the church of S.Giacomo and finished by creation of double entrance door bordered by four columns and a balcony above it.

Palazzo Rondanini Sanseverino
The palace contained a good collection of marbles taken from the burial zone in Tor Pignattara. There are some pieces still left in a courtyard and along a staircase.

One hall inside was famous for its pavement made of a number of precious marbles and rare stones. For a long period it was a house of celebrated work of Michelangelo "Pieta' Rondanini", which was moved later to Milan.

In front of Palazzo Rondanini is a house where Goethe stayed in 1786-1788, now it is a seat of Goethe Museum (pictured below), which contains designs, writings, copies of manuscripts, different documents and etc. all speaking about passion of the poet for Italy and Rome.
Goethe Museum

Palazzo (palace) Rondanini Sanseverino
Piazza Rondanini (Between Via Angelo Brunetti and Via del Vantaggio)
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione S. Eustachio (Senato-Corso Rinascimento) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Rondanini Sanseverino is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "10"
Subway: Barberini (1.1 km NE), Spagna (1.1 km NE), Flaminio (1.4 km N) - Metro Underground line: A
Contact - Casa di Goethe (Goethe Museum)
Via del Corso, 18
Telephone: 0039 06 32650412
Fax: 0039 06 32650449
Web site:

As you visit 'Palazzo Rondanini Sanseverino, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Braschi - Seat of Museo di Roma (Museum of Rome)

This was the last palace in Rome erected for the papal family, and is one of the most imposing constructions of the pontifical Rome. Palazzo Braschi was built

Palazzo Giustiniani (Palazzo Madama, Italian Parliament/Senato Della Repubblica), Rome

It was built on the area of the Baths of Alexander in the end of the 16th century by G.Fontana for the Giustiniani family. Construction was finished by

Palazzo Madama - Senate of the Republic of Italy

The palace was built for the Medici in the beginning of the 16th century, but it took the name of Madama Margherita di Parma (d'Austria), a daughter of Charles

Palazzo Primoli, Mario Praz Museum, Museo Napoleonico, Rome

In the Palazzo Primoli (15th century) have their seats Fondazione Primoli and Museo Napoleonico. Museo Napoleonico in its 14 rooms contains picture,

Casa dei Mutilati (The palace of War Cripples), Rome

The full name of this construction is Palazzo dei Mutilati e Invalidi di Guerra, i.e. The palace of War Cripples. It is a seat of the namesake national