"Palazzo Salviati" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 9th June 2011
Takes its name after a noble Florentine family which in 1554-64 made it built. The architect was Nanni de Baccio Bogio. Here was a residence of numerous cardinals and prelates till the end of 18th century. In the 19th century it was the seat of the Pontific government archives; later it hosted the Military Court and Military College of Rome. Now it is a seat of various military departments.
Palazzo Salviati is in front of Palazzo Doria-Pamphili in Via del Corso. Palazzo Salviati was erected with the name Palazzo Mancini in 1662 for the nephew of Giulio Mazarini, by C.Rainaldi. In 1725-1803 it was a seat of French Academy (now at Villa Medici). The palace has a beautiful entrance under an ample balcony supported by four columns; and it is especially noted for a splendid cornice with corbels and putti.
The small medieval church of SS. Leonardo e Romualdo stood opposite Palazzo Salviati; it was renovated by Ludovico Gregorini at the beginning of the XVIIIth century; in 1863 the church was pulled down to make room for the supporting pillar of an iron bridge which in turn was demolished in 1942 when it was replaced by Ponte Principe Amedeo di Savoia.
Palazzo Salviati is the seat of the Centro Alti Studi per la Difesa (Center for higher studies in defence). On special occasions the courtyard of Palazzo Salviati houses concerts of the Carabinieri Band
The opposite side of the river near S. Giovanni dei Fiorentini; Salita di S. Onofrio is located to the right of the building. The Italian Military Centre for Strategic Studies (Centro Militare Studi Strategici - Ce.Mi.S.S.) is located in Palazzo Salviati, in Rome (Italy) along with two other organizations:
In 1820 the gardens of Palazzo Salviati were chosen as the site for the Botanical Garden of Rome; Pope Gregory XVI in 1833 opened a direct access to them which was decorated with copies of ancient Egyptian lions; Donovan's Guide to Rome says that from Easter to the Feast of Sts. Peter and Paul (June 29), twenty gratuitous public lectures were delivered by the professor of Practical Botany of la Sapienza; in 1883 the Botanical Garden was relocated to the larger gardens of Villa Corsini.
In the garden of the palazzo Salviati, Leo XII founded in 1823 the Botanical gardens enlarged by Gregory XVI in 1837; since then there is an inscription left on the top of entrance bar "Botanicae provehendae". Now it occupies the territory of 12,000 sqm and possesses approx. 3500 sorts of plants. In 1883 the scientific institution was transferred in the gardens of Palazzo Corsini, which is located very close to Palazzo Salviati.
Via del Corso, In front of Palazzo Doria-Pamphili
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campo Marzio (P.Spagna-P.Popolo-Pincio) (Roma centro)/ Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro)
Centro Alti Studi della Difesa
Piazza della Rovere, 83 - 00165 Roma
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Salviati is Shown By "Map G Zone" As "2",
Palazzo Salviati is also Shown By "Map E Zone" As "109"
Bus: 23, 46, 64, 116
Tel. (+39) 06-4691.1
Website: : www.casd.difesa.it