"Palazzo Wedekind, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
Palazzo Wedekind is a palazzo in Piazza Colonna in Rome, Italy, located next to the church of Santi Bartolomeo ed Alessandro dei Bergamaschi. It is notable as the historic offices of the daily paper Il Tempo. In 1659 the Ludovisi built on the site of present palace a block of buildings, which in the end of the 17th century was modified by Innocent XII and assigned to the Hospice of S.Michele. In 1814 it became a seat of State Post Office and in 1815 a project by G.Valadier was ready for reconstruction. The works were executed by P.Camporese the Younger, who finished it in 1838, adjoining to the palace a vestibule in form of terrace supported by columns, 11 of which were those found in excavations of Vejo.
In 1849 the palace housed a French Military Club and Club of Pontifical Officers. In 1852 the Post Office moved to Palazzo Madama, but returned here in 1870, before its ultimate seat at S.Silvestro. In 1878 it was occupied by Association of Press, and in 1879 it was bought by a banker Wedekind, who modified the facade and gave the name to the palace. From 1871 the palazzo housed the kingdom of Italy's Ministry of Education. For a short time in September 1943 until the liberation of Rome, the palazzo was the official base of the Fascisti romani.
Piazza Colonna, 366, (Via del Corso)
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Colonna (Pantheon-Montecitorio-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Palazzo Wedekind is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "38"