Panicale, Masolino da (1383-1440/47) (Tommaso di Cristoforo Fini)

"Panicale, Masolino da (1383-1440/47) (Tommaso di Cristoforo Fini)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Tommaso di Cristoforo Fini, named Masolino da Panicale, Italian painter, was born and died in Panicale in Valdarno in 1383-1440/47. He was strongly influenced by Ghiberti, but later studied the revolutionary theories of perspective, stimulated by presence beside him of young Masaccio. Nothing is known about Masolino before 1423, when he depicted Madonna with the Child (Kunsthalle, Bremen). Later were created the following works: Madonna (Monaco, Pin.), Madonna, the Child and St Anna (finished by Masaccio) (pictured) (Florence, Uffizi), frescoes in the Cappella Brancacci (Chiesa del Carmine, Florence).

In 1425 Masolino was invited to the Hungarian court, where he spent several month.

In 1425-1428 he worked also in Rome, together with Masaccio: Madonna della Neve (Chiesa di S.Maria Maggiore), frescoes Stories of St Catherine and St Ambrogio, Crucifixion (Cappella di S.Caterina in Chiesa di S.Clemente), Madonna between angels (Chiesa di S.Stefano, Empoli).
In 1435 he stayed in Castiglione Olona (Varese), where decorated the vault of Collegiata with the Stories of Virgin, and the Baptistery of cardinal Branda Castiglioni with the Stories of Baptist.
masolino madonna

As you visit 'Panicale, Masolino da (1383-1440/47) (Tommaso di Cristoforo Fini)' you may also like following articles . . .

Lippi, Filippo (c1406-1469)

Filippo Lippi, Italian painter, was born in Florence in circa 1406 and died in Spoleto in 1469. He was a son of a butcher, and remained orphan in the early age

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Originally it was an Oratory of S.Maria in Trivio (Trivio = three streets crossing in the square in front of it) built by Belisarius in the 6th century, so

Church/Chiesa della Madonna del Divino Amore, Rome

According to a medieval tradition MADONNA DEL DIVINO AMORE church was built on the site of the parents' house of St Cecilia. Originally it was named Chiesa di

Church/ Chiesa Parrocchia Santa Maria in Via - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

The church was first mentioned in the documents in 995. In 1256 cardinal Pietro Capocci had it reconstructed and enlarged with the aim to include in it a well