Parks, Castles and Monasteries

Torre (Tower) de' Conti

It was built over a preceding fortification in the exedra of the Forum of Vespasian in the end of the 12th century by Innocent III Conti. It was not only a private construction, but the main stronghold of the Church, as it belonged to such a family as the Conti, which gave 12 popes and 25 cardinals, and was in the center of barons' wars in the Middle Ages. The tower is...

Monumento al Bersagliere (Monument to a Bersagliere)

Monumento al Bersagliere (Monument to a Bersagliere) Close to the Breccia di Porta (Gate) Pia [Opposite the gate, on the external side, at the centre of the Piazzale di Porta Pia] there is a marble and bronze monument monument where the breach was made and across from the gate, outside the city walls, stands the Monumento al Bersagliere. The Monumento al Bersagliere (Monument to a Bersagliere) was erected in 1932 by Italo...

Terme di Diocleziano (Diocletian Bath)

Terme di Diocleziano (Diocletian Bath) Terme di Diocleziano/ The Baths of Diocletian were the biggest in Rome and had the same scheme as the Baths of Trajan and Baths of Caracalla; they could accommodate 3000 people at once. They were built in 298-306 by emperor Diocletian who widely used the work of condemned for political crimes and especially those who practiced the new Christian religion. The Terme di...

Octagonal Hall (ex Planetarium) of Diocletian Bath/ Aula Ottagona delle Terme di Diocleziano

The Octagonal Hall (ex Planetarium) of the Baths of Diocletian provides a splendid setting for some works from the Museo Nazionale Romano. The rectangular exterior hides a domed octagonal interior, which starting from the 20's of the 20th century served as a Planetarium. The hall is thought to have connected the open-air gymnasium and gardens of the Baths of Diocletian with...

Cistern Baths of Trajan Called "Sette Sale" (Seven Halls)

Cistern Baths of Trajan Called "Sette Sale" (Seven Halls) "Sette Sale" (Seven Halls) are the rests of grandiose water reservoirs served for the Baths of Trajan (110). The baths were public and had some gyms and a library; they were very rich of decoration, furniture and sculptures. The water reservoir was exceptional and could contain more than 8500 cube meters of water; it was compound of nine rooms, seven of them were discovered...

Tempio Di (Temple of) Minerva Medica - Horti

Inside wall of Tempio Di (Temple of) Minerva Medica - Horti This temple took the name from the statue of Minerva with the snake, symbol of medicine, which was found here; but originally it was probably a construction remained from the Horti Liciniani, dating from the 4th century. The diameter of this decagon edifice is 25m, and its semi-spherical ceiling dropped down in 1828. There is a large brick building in Via Giolitti in the...

Castro Pretorio (Praetorian Camp)

In 21-23 A.D. by initiative of a minister Sejanus, on the edge of the city, the Castra Praetoria, the seat of emperor's bodyguards, was erected. The walls around these barracks were 3m high, 440m long and 380m wide, with the four gates. It was compound of the camp for military exercises, the seat of the commander, praetorium, aerarium (cash-box), armamentarium (armoury),...

Sant'Onofrio al Gianicolo Church (Tasso Monument & Tassian Museum)

Sant'Onofrio al Gianicolo Church (Tasso Monument & Tassian Museum) The Chiesa di Sant'Onofrio al Gianicolo (Church of Sant'Onofrio al Gianicolo)/ Convento e chiostro di Sant'Onofrio (Monastery and cloister of Sant'Onofrio) were founded by Blessed Nicolas da Forca Palena in 1419 and restored by Pius IX in 1857. A L-shaped Renaissance portico (pictured below) connects the church and monastery. By the convent entrance is the tomb of the founder...

Pontifical North American College (Pontificio Collegio Americano del Nord)

This college arose on the part of the territory of ancient Villa Gabrielli, which was bought in 1927. The imposing construction was created by architect Enrico Galeazzi (1949-1953); and the church is rich of the contemporary art work. The North American College takes its origins from 1859, when it was located in the monastery buildings of S.Maria dell'Umilta', close to Trevi...

Lighthouse of Gianicolo (or Janiculum)

Lighthouse of Gianicolo (or Janiculum) This lighthouse is usually called "Faro al Gianicolo/ Lighthouse of Gianicolo (or Janiculum)"; it was granted to Rome in 1911 by the Italians from Argentina and it is a work of Manfredo Manfredi. So it is also called Faro degli Italiani d'Argentina (Lighthouse of Italians of Argentina). This is the flagship of Rome, on the Janiculum hill, Lighthouse of Gianicolo (or Janiculum...

Via Garibaldi [Roman Latrine (Latrina romana) & Garibaldi Mausoleum (Mausoleo Ossario Garibaldino)]

The modern via Garibaldi connects the ancient via delle Fornaci and via di S.Pietro in Montorio, which was open by Pius IX in 1867. Via Garibaldi arrives till the piazza di S.Cosimato. Roman Latrine (Latrina romana) at Via Garibaldi When part of the supporting wall of the square opposite St. Pietro in Montorio collapsed in October of 1963, the ruins of an antique Roman...

Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo)

 E.Gallori at Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (or Janiculum), Rome The square on the top of Gianicolo (or Janiculum) Hill and the avenue (passeggiata) going throughout all the Hill were realized in 1885-1887 on the territory of the ex Parco Corsini. Passeggiata del Gianicolo avenue was opened in 1880-84 on the top of the hill from Acqua Paola to S. Onofrio. In the redesign of the area Villa Lanti lost its gardens, but the casino is still...

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne

Palazzo Massimo alle Colonne The most ancient in Rome Massimo family was first historically documented in 999, but its splendor took place in the 15th century with Petrus de Maximis. Centuries ago the Massimo became owners of three palaces one adjoining to another. The facade is renown as one of the most masterful of its time, combining both elegance with stern rustication. The entrance is characterized...

Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro

palazzo dei Piceni, Salvatore in Lauro The hospice of Piceni is a complex of buildings, cloisters and courtyards, and is annexed to the church of S.Salvatore in Lauro. This is one of the most important "national" hospices in Rome, because of a great number of people from region Marche, who visited Rome or came here for living. It is presumed that a notable part of the immigration in Rome after pestilence and sack...

Farnesina Villa (Villa della Farnesina)

Farnesina Villa (Villa della Farnesina) The Farnesina Villa (Villa della Farnesina) called the Farnesina is situated on Via della Lungara, opposite the Corsini Palace. This graceful Renaissance Villa was built by B.Peruzzi in 1508-1520, as the suburban residence of rich banker Agostino Chigi, patron of Raphael. Here he entertained pope Leo X, cardinals, ambassadors, princes, artists and men of letters. At a...