Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo)

"Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 29th May 2011

 E.Gallori at Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (or Janiculum), Rome

The square on the top of Gianicolo (or Janiculum) Hill and the avenue (passeggiata) going throughout all the Hill were realized in 1885-1887 on the territory of the ex Parco Corsini. Passeggiata del Gianicolo avenue was opened in 1880-84 on the top of the hill from Acqua Paola to S. Onofrio. In the redesign of the area Villa Lanti lost its gardens, but the casino is still there with its elegant loggia.

Numerous busts of the volunteers took part in the defense of Rome stand along the road; in the middle of the square in 1895 was erected an equestrian monument to Giuseppe Garibaldi, by E.Gallori (pictured above). Around the base are 4 bronze groups: in front, "Charge of Manara's Bersaglieri" (Rome, 1849); behind, "Battle of Calatafimi" (Sicily, 1860); at the sides, "Europe" and "America". The statue itself is 7m high.
Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo)
At the distance of approx.50m along the passeggiata can be seen the equestrian monument to Anita Garibaldi (pictured below), erected in 1932 by the sculptor M.Rutelli, granted to Rome by the Brazilian Government in honour of her Brazilian origin, and incorporating her tomb. From the square opens one of the most beautiful views on Rome. At the midday, from the balcony of the piazzale takes place the everyday shot of the cannon giving a sign of the exact time. This tradition began in December 1847, when the cannon of the Castel Sant'Angelo was giving the official time of Rome and the sign to all the bell-towers to start ringing. On 24 January 1904 this custom was brought to Janiculum and continued till 1939. In 1959 the popular TV program, Il Musichiere, appealed to the authorities to continue the midday cannon tradition. The Commune of Rome accepted this request and on 21 April, 1959 fired the first shot.
Anita Garibaldi at Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo
Via Garibaldi ends at the neo-classical Porta San Pancrazio; a right turn here leads to the Passeggiata del Gianicolo, which runs along the ridge of the Gianicolo (or Janiculum) Hill towards the Vatican. White busts of Garibaldi's Italian patriots line the shady park drive, and an equestrian statue of the general himself looms above the airy promenade at Piazzale Garibaldi. A traditional puppet theater holds performances here for kids on weekend mornings and evenings.

Address:
Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo)
Via Garibaldi, salita di Sant'Onofrio
00165, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Entrances: Via Garibaldi, Piazza della Rovere (salita di Sant'Onofrio)
Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo) is Shown By "Map G Zone" As "19"
Bus: Bus line n° 870; Shuttle bus from the Gianicolo (or Janiculum) every 15 minutes to Passeggiata del Gianicolo.
Transit: Roma S.Pietro (687 m NW
Tram: 4
Tel.: +39 06 678 7857 ‎
Website: http://www.sovraintendenzaroma.it/i_luoghi/ville_e_parchi_storici/passeg...

As you visit 'Passeggiata Avenue of Gianicolo (Piazzale e Passeggiata del Gianicolo)' you may also like following articles . . .

Walking Along Gianicolo (or Janiculum) Hill - A Breathtaking View

The Janiculum is not counted as one of the Seven Hills of Rome and was nicknamed the "8th hill". The name of Janiculum Hill (Monte Gianicolo) is derived from

Lighthouse of Gianicolo (or Janiculum)

This lighthouse is usually called "Faro al Gianicolo/ Lighthouse of Gianicolo (or Janiculum)"; it was granted to Rome in 1911 by the Italians from Argentina

Villa Lante on Gianicolo/ Janiculum (Villa Lante al Gianicolo)

It is located in the most panoramic place of the Gianicolo (or Janiculum). This villa was built for the maecenas humanist from Tuscany Baldassarre Turino, the

Sant'Onofrio al Gianicolo Church (Tasso Monument & Tassian Museum)

The Chiesa di Sant'Onofrio al Gianicolo (Church of Sant'Onofrio al Gianicolo)/ Convento e chiostro di Sant'Onofrio (Monastery and cloister of Sant'Onofrio)

Michelangelo House (Casa di Michelangelo)

This is a reconstruction of the house named after Michelangelo in via delle Tre Pile, destroyed in 1874 in course of works over the access to Capitolium. In