Piazza degli Zingari

"Piazza degli Zingari" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

Piazza degli Zingari

The name of this square derives from the presence of the gipsy (zingari), who made it their permanent camp for a long period of time. It was distinguished by its own customs and feasts.

Piazza degli Zingari (Via degli Zingari), rome
Photo Credit: panoramio
It is one of the oldest part of Rome, walking distance to the Colosseum, Imperial Forums, The Opera, the Santa Maria Church, Vatican, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Santa Maria Maggiore, nearby Cavour Subway station, restaurants and shops. Stroll along the Via Urbana, lined with galleries, workshops and boutiques, and admire the Piazza degli Zingari. Stop at Studio Cassio to learn how the Cassio family has restored ancient Roman mosaics all over the country. Continue to Capitol Hill to see the square designed by Michelangelo, then conclude at the Jewish Ghetto.

Address:
Piazza degli Zingari
Via degli Zingari
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Getting Piazza degli Zingari By car, metro, train, from airport, taxi
Piazza degli Zingari is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "144"

As you visit 'Piazza degli Zingari' you may also like following articles . . .

Piazza di Santa Maria Maggiore (Saint Mary Major Square) and Its Fountain (Fontana)

The Piazza di Santa Maria Maggiore (Saint Mary Major Square) in front of basilica of S.Maria Maggiore was projected by Sixtus V as a cross point of three

Church of San Giacomo degli Spagnoli on Piazza Navona

The old church S.Giacomo degli Spagnoli, built here before the Jubilee of 1450 on the site of Oratory of St Andrew, bears now the name of Nostra Signora del

Fountain (Fontana) & Square (Piazza) of Santa Maria in Trastevere

This square was for all of the history of Trastevere district its real center and it remained it till now. In the center of it there is fountain documented

Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli e dei Martiri (St. Mary of the Angels and the Martyrs)

The hall of Tepidarium of the Baths of Diocletian (Terme di Diocleziano) was adapted for the Basilica di S.Maria degli Angeli by Michelangelo in 1560 according

Church/Chiesa della Santissima (SS.) Trinità degli Spagnoli, Rome

It was erected by the Spanish order of Trinity in 1741-1746. It is a work of architect Emanuele Rodriguez dos Santos. It occupies the place of a private