Piazza della Trinita' dei Monti, Rome

"Piazza della Trinita' dei Monti, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 11th January 2012

Piazza della Trinita' dei Monti, Rome

This is one of the places offering a wonderful view on Rome and is located right in front of the Chiesa della Trinita' dei Monti. Usually it is all occupied by artists working here during the day.

In the middle of the square is an obelisk, a Roman imitation of Imperial epoch of the Egyptian obelisks. It was erected here in 1789 by the wish of Pius VI. The obelisk is 13m high, but with the base reaches 30m. On the top is a symbol of the French kings. The obelisk bears the name Obelisco Sallustiano, as it was founded in the Gardens of Sallust (Horti Sallustiani) [close to the Lutheran church in Via Sicilia], where it was placed in the 2nd or 3rd century A.D.

Piazza della Trinita' dei Monti
Fig: Piazza della Trinita'
dei Monti

The hieroglyphs were engraved in Rome repeating the manner of the obelisk on Piazza del Popolo (some of them were turned upside-down by mistake). After centuries spent under the ground, the monument was acquired by Clement XII in 1734 from the Ludovisi, who became the owners of the territory of ancient Gardens of Sallust, and erected it first in front of St John Lateran, but it was not the best solution, because of disproportion between the impressive facade of the basilica and a little obelisk. Thus, it was taken away from Piazza di S.Giovanni and some decades later, Pius VI found the new and the ultimate place for it, in front of Chiesa della Trinita' dei Monti.

More About Gardens of Sallust (Horti Sallustiani)

The Gardens of Sallust (Latin: Horti Sallustiani) were Roman gardens developed by the Roman historian Sallust in the 1st century BC using his wealth extorted as governor of the province of Africa Nova (newly conquered Numidia). The landscaped pleasure gardens occupied a large area in the northwestern sector of Rome, in what would become Region VI, between the Pincian and Quirinal hills, near the Via Salaria and later Porta Salaria. This rione is now known as Sallustiano.

Gardens of Sallust (Horti Sallustiani)
Fig: Gardens of Sallust (Horti Sallustiani)

The Horti Sallustiani owe their name to the fact that they belonged to the historian Sallust. They were the largest monumental park in Rome with the gardens and the villa and occupied a vast area delimited by the current Via Salaria, Via Veneto, Via XX Settembre, and the Aurelian Walls. This area previously belonged to Julius Caesar and was purchased by Sallust in 44 B.C. who enlarged to make it his residence. It became imperial property under Emperor Tiberius (14-37 A.D.).

There were several buildings disseminated in the enormous area of the park, including a thermal resort and a temple dedicated to Venus Ericina. The ruins of a large complex consisting of three sets of buildings can still be seen today in Piazza Sallustio at the depth of 14 meters below the street level. The main building consists of a large circular hall covered with a dome, similar to the Serapeum of Villa Adriana in Tivoli.There are niches opened in the walls, two of which give access to side rooms which were probably nymphaea (monumental fountains). Many famous sculptures come from the Horti Sallustiani, including the Galata Morente (Dying Galatian) kept in the Capitoline Museums, the Galata Suicida (Suicidal Galatian) and the Trono Ludovisi (Ludovisi Throne) kept in Palazzo Altemps. Even the obelisk placed since 1789 on top of the Spanish Steps comes from the Horti Sallustiani.

From Piazza della trinita dei Monti two streets begin: Via Sistina and Via Gregoriana. On the angle between them is a palace named Palazzo Zuccari, as it was built by Federico Zuccari as a seat of Academy and which later was inhabited by the Queen of Poland. The palace is noted for the windows and a door on Via Gregoriana designed in form of the mouths of wild animals, that is why it was also called "Casa dei Mostri" (House of Monsters). In 1900 it was bought by Enrichetta Hertz, who left her library, with the palace for the seat of Biblioteca Hertziana, a cultural center specialized in history of medieval and modern art, founded in 1913. It is now one of the most famous art history libraries in the country.

More About Biblioteca Hertziana (Palazzetto Zuccari o Casa dei Mostri)

Biblioteca Hertziana (Palazzetto Zuccari o Casa dei Mostri
Fig: Biblioteca Hertziana
(Palazzetto Zuccari o Casa dei Mostri)

History of Italian Art (early Middle Ages and Baroque), Archaeology. The Baroque palace (Palazzetto Zuccari) was built by Federico Zuccari, after his own design, in 1592 to house an Art Academy. It has a portal and two windows representing monstrous faces with gaping mouths. Today, together with the near palace Stroganoff, is the seat of the Biblioteca Hertizana. The palace is the seat of the Biblioteca Hertziana. The building works are expected to last until 2009. Due to the commencement of the building works for the new part of the Bibliotheca Hertziana, the library is actually closed for an extended period.

Address:
Piazza della Trinita' dei Monti
Piazza della Trinità dei Monti,
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campo Marzio (P.Spagna-P.Popolo-Pincio) (Roma centro)
Piazza della Trinita' dei Monti is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "22"

Contact - Gardens of Sallust (Horti Sallustiani)
Address: Piazza Sallustio, 21
Zone: Rione Sallustiano (Via Bissolati) (Roma centro)
Telephone: 0039 06 42011597 info e pren.
Fax: 0039 06 42814495
Email: conv...@hortisallustiani.it
Web site: www.hortisallustiani.it
Visits for Associations and groups only. Info: Tecno Holding S.p.A.

Contact - Biblioteca Hertziana (Palazzetto Zuccari o Casa dei Mostri)
Address: Via Gregoriana, 28
Zone: Rione Campo Marzio (P.Spagna-P.Popolo-Pincio) (Roma centro)
Telephone: 0039 06 699931
Fax: 0039 06 69993333
Email: i...@biblhertz.it
Website: http://www.biblhertz.it/

To Reach Church/Chiesa della Trinita' dei Monti: Find Nearby Bus Station, Train Station, Tourist Information Points of Piazza della Trinità dei Monti/Viale Trinità dei Monti

As you visit 'Piazza della Trinita' dei Monti, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/Chiesa della Trinita' dei Monti, Rome

The church was begun in 1493 by Louis XII and was finished many centuries later, partly due to a damage brought in 1527 by sack of Rome. Many French

Piazza di Spagna, Piazza della Trinita, Rome

At present Piazza di Spagna is a center of luxury fashionable shops and galleries of art and antiques. It has an irregular form: three different parts one

Scalinata Trinità dei Monti (Spanish Steps), Rome

Famous all over the world as the Spanish steps, it was realized in 1723-1726 by the project of F.De Sanctis. The idea to create it was caused by the necessity

Church/Chiesa della Santissima (SS.) Trinità degli Spagnoli, Rome

It was erected by the Spanish order of Trinity in 1741-1746. It is a work of architect Emanuele Rodriguez dos Santos. It occupies the place of a private

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a