"Piazza di Spagna, Piazza della Trinita, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
At present Piazza di Spagna is a center of luxury fashionable shops and galleries of art and antiques. It has an irregular form: three different parts one attached to another. It was dominated by France to the north of the Spanish steps, where the French ambassador had a residence, and in square's southern part by Spain, where the Palace of Spanish ambassador still stands. The central part for centuries was the most elegant meeting place in Rome and here the English colony congregated.
Piazza di Spagna and all the zone around it for a very long time was a place of fights and bloody battles between France and Spain, finished only by Innocent XI in the end of the 17th century, who suspended the so called "rights of the district", that led to creation of real cities in the city.
The name of the square derives from the Palazzo di Spagna in its southern part. In fact the square was first "Piazza della Trinita' ", then it was divided into "Piazza di Francia" (at north) and "Piazza di Spagna" (at south), and finally took only one name of Piazza di Spagna, mostly due to existence and survival of the Palace of Spain on it. Many foreign travellers chose their lodgings in the pensions and hotels in the vicinity of the square, which attracts by its beauty and harmony.
In the southern part of the square is a Colonna dell'Immacolata (Column of Immaculate Conception) (above pictured), realized by L.Poletti and made of a cipollino column found in excavation of Campo Marzio in 1778 and remained abandoned for nearly a century. The column was decorated by bronze elements, has a bronze statue of Virgin on the top, by G.Obici, and a marble base with four bronze statues of prophets. The monument was unveiled in 1857 and commemorates the establishment by Pius IX in 1854 of the dogma of the Immaculate Conception of the Virgin Mary.
In the central part of the square is a graceful Fontana della Barcaccia built in 1623 by P.Bernini. And still today, the steps are a meeting place and therefore is called “the open-air salon of Rome”. The fountain by Pietro Bernini, Gian Lorenzo’s father, called “Barcaccia”, is at the bottom of the famous Spanish steps. In ancient times a small naumachia (naval stadium) stood in this place, and the shape of this fountain would have recalled the no longer existing structure. The church of Trinità dei Monti, founded in 1495, is in a wonderful position from which you can see one of the most beautiful views of Rome. Inside it are two works by Daniele da Volterra, a pupil of Michelangelo.
Before the river walls on Tiber were built in the end of the 19th century, the river quite often flooded the city and the marks of the water level on some houses in this zone showing nearly 1 meter above the ground make an impression. Once, during a terrible flood of 1598, a boat brought on Piazza di Spagna by Tiber, remained here after the water retired. In memory of this event the low Fountain of a Boat was erected here. Its water (Acqua Vergine) is drinkable.
During yearly Piazza di Spagna Carnival there are street entertainment and theater, traditional ethnic music, activities, equestrian shows, Commedia dell 'Arte performances, and costume parades. Roman Carnival also reserve a special place for children with a series of events.
Piazza di Spagna
Scalinata della Trinità dei Monti, north of the Spanish steps,
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campo Marzio (P.Spagna-P.Popolo-Pincio) (Roma centro)
Piazza di Spagna is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "22"
Contact Piazza di Spagna Carnival
Tel.: +39 060608 (daily from 9.00 am to 9.00 pm)
To Reach Piazza di Spagna at Scalinata della Trinita' dei Monti: Find Nearby Bus Station, Train Station, Tourist Information Points of Piazza della Trinità dei Monti/Viale Trinità dei MontiAs you visit 'Piazza di Spagna, Piazza della Trinita, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .