Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro

"Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

palazzo dei Piceni, Salvatore in Lauro

The hospice of Piceni is a complex of buildings, cloisters and courtyards, and is annexed to the church of S.Salvatore in Lauro. This is one of the most important "national" hospices in Rome, because of a great number of people from region Marche, who visited Rome or came here for living. It is presumed that a notable part of the immigration in Rome after pestilence and sack of Rome in 1527 was from Marche. Confraternity of Piceni became the owners of this place in 1669, and for years kept on assistance activity for their fellow-region persons.

The hospice worked to house the pilgrims from Le Marche region. The entrance to the complex is the first one to the left of the church. Going up the ramp of the 16th century staircase you can visit also the collection of Umberto Mastroianni, donated by the artist himself (he's the brother of the actor, Marcello).

Inside there is a 15th century cloister with the arches based on little columns and surmounted by loggia; a courtyard with the finest sculptural decorations that were probably executed by some Venetian artists invited here by previous Venetian owners monks "Celestini"; there are also some tombs (a tomb of Eugenius IV, which came here from the old St Peter's; a tomb of Maddalena Orsini).

Address:
Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro
Piazza di San Salvatore in Lauro
Close to Piazza Navona
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "48"
More Info: Pious Association - Pio Sodalizio dei Piceni – Piazza San Salvatore in Lauro

As you visit 'Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of San Salvatore in Lauro (laurel wood/ bay-trees)

The name of the church reminds about the former look of this zone all covered by little forest of laurel wood/ bay-trees (lauro) in the epoch of its

Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)

Via Giulia begins in the Florentine quarter of Rome. The first two buildings of the street were of great importance for the Florentine community. The

Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato)

Before the 19th century when this part of Trastevere was free from constructions of any type, the zone around the Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e

Ospizio (Hospice) del Clementino

In 1715 pope Clement XI transferred in one part of an old hospice founded by Sixtus V a little hospice for poor girls, who in preparation for the Holy Year of

Hospice of 100 Priests/ Old Priests/ San Michele (Ospizio dei Cento Preti/S.Michele)

Pope Sixtus V had D.Fontana build this hospice in 1587, but in the modern construction nearly nothing left from the original one. Sixtus V tried to resolve a