"Pincian Hill (Pincio/ Pincius), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
It was the first garden in Rome open to public. Previously this area was occupied by vine yards and gardens that belonged to the nearby convent and corresponding to Villa dei Pinci e degli Acili. It was known as the Collis Hortulorum of ancient Rome. In the 4th century it was owned by the Pinci, from whom the name of the hill is derived.
The project of a garden was done by G.Valadier for Napoleon and it had to be called "Jardin du Grand Cesar", but in reality never bore this name. The works continued from 1810 until 1818. There is a panoramic terrace (pictured above) named after Napoleon from where an exceptional view opens on Piazza del Popolo, Prati district and St Peter's.
The Pincian Hill (Italian: Pincio, from Latin Mons Pincius) is a hill in the northeast quadrant of the historical center of Rome. The Pincian Hill is to the north of the Quirinal Hill, overlooking the Campus Martius. The Pincian was mostly gardens, and was referred to as the Collis Hortolorum, the hill of gardens. There is still a park today with a beautiful view over the Piazza del Popolo.
The highest point of the Pincian Hill is occupied by so called
(pictured above), named after an architect who projected it in perfect neo-classic forms. it was conceived as a coffee-house on the territory of garden. It served for most of its history as a fashionable restaurant visited by some celebrate personalities.
In the middle of the main street of the Pincian garden is an
(pictured above), a lover of emperor Hadrian, who drowned in the Nile in 130. It was discovered in the 16th century under a vine-yard outside of Porta Maggiore. It was either the site of a tomb of Antinoo or a site where the obelisk decorated the Circus Varianus. In 1632 it was moved from its original place to the garden of Palazzo Barberini. In 1773 it was presented to Clement XIV, who had it transferred to the courtyard of Pine-cone in Vatican. In 1822 Pius VII decided to move the monument to the new Garden of Pincio.
Throughout the park are 228 busts of celebrated Italians of all epochs. Should also be noticed two fountains: Water Clock (1870) and Fontana del Mose'. Close to the Aurelian Wall is a monument to Enrico Toti, a Roman hero-bersagliere, by A.Dazzi (1918). In a niche of always-green trees is a bust of G.Valadier, the author of the Pincio.
Pincian Hill (Pincio/ Pincius)
Viale Gabriele D'Annunzio,
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campo Marzio (P.Spagna-P.Popolo-Pincio) (Roma centro)
Pincian Hill (Pincio/Pincius) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "5"
Subway: Flaminio (302 m W) - Metro Underground line: A