Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island

"Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

Ponte Fabricio was built in 62 b.C. by L.Fabricius curator viarum (as it is inscribed on both sides of the bridge). This is the oldest Roman bridge to have survived in the city, and still in use for pedestrians. In the Middle Ages it was called "Pons Judeurum" (Jewish bridge) because of the proximity of Ghetto. It is also known as the Ponte Quattro Capi from the two herms of the four-headed Janus (pictured below) on the parapet put here under Sixtus V (1585-1590).

Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island, Rome
This event gave birth to a legend which says that restoration of the bridge was conducted by four architects who during the works quarreled between themselves getting to scandals. When restoration was finished Sixtus V condemned them to death by beheading for the reason of unworthy professional behavior. In their memory the pope ordered four busts-portraits of these architects and located them on the parapets of the bridge.
Ponte dei Quattro Capi (Bridge with Four Heads).
Ponte Fabricio is 57m long and 5,6m wide. It was the first one to connect the Isola Tiberina (Tiber island) with one of the banks of the Tiber river. It is also called “Ponte dei Quattro Capi” (Bridge with Four Heads) [pictured above] due to the presence of four marble busts at its four heads.

Address:
Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island
Lungotevere dei Pierleoni
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo-Bocca Verità-Aventino) (Roma centro)
Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "10"
Bus: H - 23 - 63 - 280 - 630 - 780
Tram: service 8
Metro Subway: service B, stop Circo Massimo
More details about: Isola Tiberina (Tiber island)

As you visit 'Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island' you may also like following articles . . .

Ponte (Bridge) Cestio - Connects Tiber Island to Trastevere district

Ponte (Bridge) Cestio was probably built in 46 b.C. by L.Cestius en-charged by Caesar together with other five personalities to govern Rome in time of his

Ponte Rotto/ Emilio (Broken/ Emilio Bridge)

What is remained from an original construction is an arch belonging to the Ponte S.Maria or Ponte Senatorio, which after two previous collapses was

Church of San Giovanni Calibita on the Tiber island

The Chiesa di S.Giovanni Calibita/ Church of San Giovanni Calibita was built in the 9th century, but its modern look was created in 1640. It contains

Isola Tiberina (Tiber island)

The size of this little island rises in the middle of the river Tiber is 300mx80m, along the creek that divides Trastevere from the area of the Piazza Navona.

Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island

The tower (torre) stands on the left of Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio and behind the Basilica di San Bartolomeo all'Isola. It belonged first to the Pierleoni family