Ponte (Bridge) Milvio/Milvian Bridge, Rome

"Ponte (Bridge) Milvio/Milvian Bridge, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 10th January 2012

Ponte (Bridge) Milvio/Milvian Bridge, Rome

For the whole period of the history of Rome this bridge was particularly important being a junction of several ways: Via Flaminia, Via Cassia, Via Clodia and Via Veientana. It is not precisely known when it was built, but it is certain the time of its first reconstruction, conducted by M. Aemilius Scaurus in 109 b.C.. The decisive battle between emperors Constantine and Maxentius on October 28, 312 A.D. was named after the bridge, as it took place nearby. From here Maxentius was thrown into the Tiber and drowned after his defeat.

The watchtowers, added by Nicolas V in the 15th century, were reconstructed in 1805 by design of G.Valadier, who also erected the triumphal arch at the entrance. The last huge damage was brought by Garibaldians in 1849 and the bridge was restored in 1850. It has four arches, three of which are originals. The bridge is also named "Mollo", a popular corruption of word "Milvio". On its side facing the city are two statues: St John Nepomucenus (1731) and of the Immaculate (middle of the 19th century).

In front of it, in the center of ancient cemetery of pilgrims is a shrine containing a statue of St Andrew, erected by Pius II in 1462 to commemorate the arrival of the head of St Andrew in Rome.

Ponte (Bridge) Milvio (Milvian Bridge) over tiber river, Rome
Fig: Ponte (Bridge) Milvio (Milvian Bridge)
over tiber river, Rome

On the other side of Tiber had been standing two statues by F.Mochi, created for Chiesa di S.Giovanni dei Fiorentini in 1654, and located now in Museo di Roma. Here is also the Chiesa della Gran Madre di Dio, by Cesare Bazzani, 1933, projected by G.Valadier. Ponte Milvio was closed for traffic in 1951, and can be accessed only by pedestrians. It is 180m long and 6.5m wide.

The Milvian (or Mulvian) Bridge (Italian: Ponte Molle or Ponte Milvio, Latin: Pons Milvius or Pons Mulvius) is a bridge over the River Tiber in northern Rome, Italy. Ponte Milvio (Milvian Bridge) is a crossroads of styles and trends and a hotspot for the trendsetters and jet set of Rome. The Ponte Milvio became a meeting point for young lovers thanks to the phenomenon of "Love Locks." Couples lock a padlock on the streetlights of the Ponte Milvio and throw the keys into the river below, thereby making an unbreakable bond of love.

Address:
Ponte (Bridge) Milvio/Milvian Bridge/Piazzale di Ponte Milvio,
34-37 Ponte Milvio, Via Flaminia, 00191, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Subway: Metro A
Shown By Map A Zone As "23"

As you visit 'Ponte (Bridge) Milvio/Milvian Bridge, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Ponte (Bridge) Sisto/ Aurelio/ Antonino - Bridge of Gianicolense (Janiculum)

This is an ancient Ponte Gianicolense (Bridge of Janiculum), also known as Ponte Aurelio or Ponte Antonino. It was rebuilt probably on the same piers by Sixtus

Ponte (Bridge) Flaminio/ Museo (Museum) Torretta Valadier, Rome

This bridge was built in 1939-51 with the pause between 1943 and 1947. It is made of reinforced cement, has seven arches and is 292m long and 40m wide. It

Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island

Ponte Fabricio was built in 62 b.C. by L.Fabricius curator viarum (as it is inscribed on both sides of the bridge). This is the oldest Roman bridge to have

Ponte (Bridge) Cestio - Connects Tiber Island to Trastevere district

Ponte (Bridge) Cestio was probably built in 46 b.C. by L.Cestius en-charged by Caesar together with other five personalities to govern Rome in time of his

Ponte (Bridge) Principe Amedeo

The bridge was built in 1940-42 not far from the site of Ponte Neroniano, i.e. the bridge of Nero, the rests of which could be seen in the periods when the