Ponte (Bridge) Principe Amedeo

"Ponte (Bridge) Principe Amedeo" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 24th May 2011

The bridge was built in 1940-42 not far from the site of Ponte Neroniano, i.e. the bridge of Nero, the rests of which could be seen in the periods when the level of water in Tiber is the lowest. Since the middle of the 19th century here was the iron bridge.

Ponte (Bridge) Principe Amedeo. Rome
The bridge is dedicated to the viceroy of Ethiopia prince Amadeus of Savoy Aosta, medal for military valor in World War Two. It connects Via Aurelia with Piazza della Rovere and Corso Vittorio Emanuele. In the nineteenth century the Bagni (Baths) of San Giovanni dei Fiorentini were in the surroundings, where also horses were allowed.

Right in front of the bridge on the side where the Hospital St.Spirit stands in the end of 1999 was finally opened the tunnel under Janiculum Hill, which construction was began in the same time as the bridge's one.

This so called Traforo del Gianicolo connecting the river side and the zone of Porta Cavalleggeri is 305m long, 9m high and 16m in diameter. It was projected by Ercolani and De Romanis.

The bridge named after the Italian prince Amadeus is 110m long and 20m wide.

Address:
Ponte (Bridge) Principe Amedeo
Lungotevere dei Sangallo
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Ponte (Bridge) Principe Amedeo is Shown By "Map G Zone" As "1"

As you visit 'Ponte (Bridge) Principe Amedeo' you may also like following articles . . .

Ponte (Bridge) Sisto/ Aurelio/ Antonino - Bridge of Gianicolense (Janiculum)

This is an ancient Ponte Gianicolense (Bridge of Janiculum), also known as Ponte Aurelio or Ponte Antonino. It was rebuilt probably on the same piers by Sixtus

Ponte (Bridge) Vittorio Emanuele II, Rome

The bridge was unveiled in 1911 in the year of 50th anniversary of the national unity and dedicated to the first king of Italy. It is a natural extension of

Ponte (Bridge) Milvio/Milvian Bridge, Rome

For the whole period of the history of Rome this bridge was particularly important being a junction of several ways: Via Flaminia, Via Cassia, Via Clodia and

Ponte (Bridge) Mazzini

Ponte Mazzini, originally called Gianicolense, connects the Tiber embankment opposite Via Giulia with Via della Lungara. This bridge was built by engineers

Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island

Ponte Fabricio was built in 62 b.C. by L.Fabricius curator viarum (as it is inscribed on both sides of the bridge). This is the oldest Roman bridge to have