"Porta del Popolo/ Porta Flaminia/ Piazzale Flaminio, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
It corresponds to an ancient Porta Flaminia in the Aurelian Walls, which in the 10th century was named Porta S.Valentino, and later took the name of the adjoining to it church of S.Maria del Popolo. The outer facade was erected by Nanni di Baccio Bigio in 1562-1565 under Pius IV. The attic has pope's arms and two colossal statues on both sides of Apostles Peter and Paul, by F.Mochi (1638) (removed since 1979). Two side archways were open in 1878 by demolishing of two rectangular towers that were protecting the gate from the epoch of Aurelian. It was necessary to do due to increase of traffic.
During these works the traces of original gate were found beneath the ground. The inner facade is by G.L.Bernini in form of triumphal arch and executed in occasion of arrival of the Queen Christina of Sweden in 1655. The heraldic elements belong to pope Alexander VII.
Leaning on one side of the right fornix of Porta Flaminia, the fountain - Fontana abbeveratoio di Porta del Popolo was built in 1886, as commemorated in the Municipal coat of arms that surmounts it. The pond consists of an old rectangular brick trough with travertine base and edges. It receives water from two side taps inserted in travertine cubes surmounted by travertine spheres.
Porta del Popolo/ Porta Flaminia/ Piazzale Flaminio
Piazza del Popolo, 11
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campo Marzio (P.Spagna-P.Popolo-Pincio) (Roma centro)
Porta del Popolo/ Porta Flaminia/ Piazzale Flaminio is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "6"
Subway: Fermata Flaminio (42 m N) - Metro Underground line: A
Bus 88 - 95 - 117 - 119 - 490 - 495 - 628 - 926 - 204
Tel: +39 06 3265 2783