Porta (Gate) Pia and Museum of the Bersaglieri

"Porta (Gate) Pia and Museum of the Bersaglieri" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 14th May 2011

Porta (Gate) Pia and Museum of the Bersaglieri

After the ancient gate Porta Nomentana was closed with the goal to straighten the tract of the new road penetrating the city Via Pia (from the name of pope who wanted all this work done Pius IV Medici), the construction of the new gate was ordered to Michelangelo. It was erected in 1561-1564. The decorations contain the symbols of two professions: barbers and surgeons, who were the founders of the Medici family from Milan (not the famous Florentine Medici's) to which Pius IV belonged.

Porta (Gate) Pia
The exterior face of the gate is by V.Vespignani (1868). The statues represent S.Agnese and S.Alessandro, two saints to who the basilicas standing on the via Nomentana (which begins from Porta Pia) are dedicated. The inner decorations contain mosaic Madonna (1936) reproducing a painting of 1862 which was located on the same place before but was seriously damaged, as well as those two statues of saints, during the shelling on September 20, 1870. Also See: Breccia di Porta (Gate) Pia
Monument in Piazzale di Porta Piastatue in Piazzale di Porta Pia

Museo Storico dei Bersaglieri (Museum of the Bersaglieri)

The Historical Museum of the Bersaglieri is located in the building at Porta Pia wanted by Pious the Fourth and designed by Michelangelo in 1561-64. Inside of the gate's construction, which became the symbol of Rome-capital of the united Italy, a Museum of Bersaglieri (Museo Storico dei Bersaglieri) is located (1932); it is dedicated to the army-corps combated here on that famous day and contains the documents relating to the defense of the Roman republic in 1849, to three Independence wars and two World wars.
Museo Storico dei Bersaglieri (Museum of the Bersaglieri), Piazzale di Porta Piastatue in Piazzale di Porta Pia
The external single-fornix facade on via Nomentana was added in 1864. In 1932 the premises were assigned to the Museum that was already founded in 1887 by the Inspectorate of the Bersaglieri and housed until then in the rooms of the old barracks of San Francesco a Ripa. The new Museum was inaugurated on September 18 1932 together with the National Monument to the Bersagliere that rises in the Piazzale di Porta Pia just opposite the building. It keeps paintings, photographs, documents, and relics from the Wars of Independence up to the African Campaigns and the Second World War. The monument to Enrico Toti and the bronze busts of Alessandro Lamarmora, founder of the Corps, Goffredo Mameli, and Luciano Manara are placed in the internal courtyard of the building, in addition to the memorial in honor of the more than one hundred thousand Bersaglieri fallen between 1848 and 1945.

Porta (Gate) Pia and Museum of the Bersaglieri
Piazzale di Porta Pia (Via 20 Settembre, 2)
00198, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Quartiere Salario (Roma nord)
Porta (Gate) Pia and Museum of the Bersaglieri is Shown By "Map F Zone" As "6"
Hours: It can be visited by groups or individuals on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 09.00 to 13.30. Visit upon request.
Bus: 36 - 60 - 61 - 62 - 84 - 90 - 490 - 401 - 495
Tel: 2006 486 723 or 06 47355522
Website: http://www.esercito.difesa.it/root/musei/museo_bersaglieri.asp

As you visit 'Porta (Gate) Pia and Museum of the Bersaglieri' you may also like following articles . . .

Breccia di Porta (Gate) Pia

This was the place where the battle for Rome on September 20, 1870 occurred, the place from where the first "bersaglieri" entered the city, a few steps away

Gate/ Porta San Sebastiano (Ancient Appia Gate) & Museum of Walls (Museo Mura)

The ancient gate Porta Appia, better known as Porta San Sebastiano successively took the name of the nearby basilica of S.Sebastiano. It is the largest and

Monumento al Bersagliere (Monument to a Bersagliere)

Close to the Breccia di Porta (Gate) Pia [Opposite the gate, on the external side, at the centre of the Piazzale di Porta Pia] there is a marble and bronze

San Pancrazio Gate (Porta) In The Janiculum

This gate stands on the highest point of Janiculum Hill and takes the name from the near by basilica of S.Pancrazio. It was built by Urban VIII, and rebuilt by

Porta (Gate) Metronia

This gate was closed in the 12th century, as it didn't have any importance even at the time of its construction in the walls of Aurelian. Because of the