Pozzo, Andrea (1642-1709)

"Pozzo, Andrea (1642-1709)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Andrea Pozzo, Italian painter and scenograph, was born in Trento in 1642 and died in Vienna in 1709. After some short activity in Trento, he joined the confraternity of Jesuits in 1665. In 1675 Pozzo was invited to Turin, where executed frescoes in Chiesa dei SS.Martiri and a scenographic cycle in Chiesa di S.Francesco Saverio (Mondovi, 1676-79).

Afterwards he was invited to Rome by Jesuits to execute the frescoes in Chiesa di S.Ignazio: Glory of St Ignatius (1691-94) on the vault (his most celebrated work), apse frescoes, tribune frescoes, altar of St Ignatius. In the meantime he created the projects for the Chiesa di S.Ignazio in Ragusa, the Cathedral of Lubiana and Chiesa di S.Francesco Saverio in Trento.

In 1693-1702 the treatise dedicated to architecture "Perspectiva pictorum et architectorum" was written, and had a great influence on the futher development of the architecture. In 1694 he depicted the Convent of the Chiesa della Trinita' dei Monti. In 1683-85 and 1697-1702 were executed the altarpieces for Jesuit churches in Lombardy: Cathedral of Cuneo and Cappella dei Mercanti (Turin), respectively.

In 1703 Pozzo moved to Vienna, where decorated the University, Palazzo Liechtenstein (Triumph of Hercules), and the Jesuit's College.

As you visit 'Pozzo, Andrea (1642-1709)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Originally it was an Oratory of S.Maria in Trivio (Trivio = three streets crossing in the square in front of it) built by Belisarius in the 6th century, so

Church/ Chiesa Parrocchia Santa Maria in Via - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

The church was first mentioned in the documents in 995. In 1256 cardinal Pietro Capocci had it reconstructed and enlarged with the aim to include in it a well

Church/Chiesa della Trinita' dei Monti, Rome

The church was begun in 1493 by Louis XII and was finished many centuries later, partly due to a damage brought in 1527 by sack of Rome. Many French

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola, Rome

It was erected by Jesuits on the site of previous Chiesetta dell'Annunziata, which was also built by Jesuits in 1562-1564, with the help of cardinal Ludovico

Chiesa del Gesu (Church of the Gesù)

The full name of this principal Jesuit church in Rome is Chiesa del SS.Nome di Gesu'. The Gesù was conceived in 1551 by Saint Ignatius of Loyola, the founder