Regina Coeli Prison (Carcere di Regina Coeli)

"Regina Coeli Prison (Carcere di Regina Coeli)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 25th May 2011

Regina Coeli Prison (Carcere di Regina Coeli)

The name of the prison transferred in this buildings in 1881-1885 comes from the Chiesa conventuale di S.Maria Regina Coeli, i.e. the monastery church existed here before the prison. The prison was built under the direction of Carlo Morgini. The monastery was founded in 1654 by Anna Colonna, the wife of Taddeo Barberini. On the right side of the Carcere there is via delle Mantellate, where the Women's prison with the same name stands.

Regina Coeli Prison (Carcere di Regina Coeli), Via delle Mantellate, rome
The prison of Regina Coeli in Rome. Completed in 1892, it occupies the space of the convent after which it was named: the convent of Santa Maria Regina Coeli. The particular prison was built in the aftermath of the Italian unification when national identity was still formulated and the economy industrialized. At the same period, the discussion on prison architecture was shifting from an interest in the panopticon-centered structures to the architecture of the cell. Penitentiaries were transformed from sites of mere constrain, to sites of correction, to later develop into laboratories of identity.

Address:
Regina Coeli Prison (Carcere di Regina Coeli)
Via della Lungara, 29 (Via delle Mantellate, 5-6)
00165, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Regina Coeli Prison (Carcere di Regina Coeli) is Shown By "Map G Zone" As "8"
Transit: Arenula/Min. G.giustizia (877 m SE)
Tram: 8
Telephone: 0039 066 89251

As you visit 'Regina Coeli Prison (Carcere di Regina Coeli)' you may also like following articles . . .

Mamertine Prison (Carcere Mamertino) or Tullianum

Mamertine Prison (Carcere Mamertino) [also called Tullianum] according to a legend was the Prison or jail (Carcere) where St Peter and St Paul was imprisoned.

Criminology Museum (Museo Criminologico) - Former Juvenile Prison (Carcere Minorile)

The Museum of Criminology was founded in 1931 by the Minister of Justice Alfredo Rocco and was initially set up in the seventeenth century building of the

Church of San Nicola in Carcere (Prison) and Its 3 Temples (Templi)

The main characteristic of this Chiesa di San Nicola in Carcere (Basilica or Church of St. Nicholas in Prison/ Cardinal Titular Church) is the fact that it was

Ponte Regina Margherita, Rome

It was the first bridge connecting the old Rome with the new district of Prati. It was built in 1886-1891. It is made of bricks covered with panels of

Fontana del Prigione (Fountain of Prison)

Villa Montalto, owned by Sisto V Peretti (1585-1590) and found on the Esquilino hill, was the largest private property within the city walls. At the end of the