San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital Complex at Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano

"San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital Complex at Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 6th July 2011

The Hospital Complex, "S. Giovanni - Addolorata" is on the Celio hill, an area of ancient Roman urban settlements. Under the existing buildings are still visible archaeological remains of great importance, among which of particular interest is the Villa of Domitian Lucilla, mother of Emperor Marcus Aurelius. The complex is located in a downtown area of the city of Rome, Italy. The health care activities inside the complex are distributed into four adjacent areas as illustrated in fig. 1 a. (see below) The administrative activities are hosted in a separate 5-store office building. Recently another private 200 beds hospital operating in the area (Calvary Hospital, formerly directed by an Irish order) has been integrated in the complex.
San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital complex

Thus, actually the whole complex provides the following buildings or precincts:

The area occupied by the complex is of exceptional archaeological interest for the City of Rome. Indeed, in a squared kilometer area centred in the complex, it is possible to find archaeological sites of outstanding interest such as the Colosseum complex, the S. Giovanni in Laterano cathedral, the S. Stefano Rotondo basilica, etc..

The same S. Giovanni hospital is built on the remains of “Domus Annorum”, the house of Domithia Lucilla, emperor Marco Aurelio’s mother.

During the recent renovation interventions at Addolorata hospital, a further extraordinary discover has been done. A famous and well known in literature house of the Roman Republican age has been discovered under the basement of the east wing of the hospital. The house is the famous “Domus Valerii”, that was the villa of a powerful family of that age that provides a unique example of a rich house of the Republic. The mosaics found in perfect conditions are of rare beauty to witness the high fineness already reached in that age.
Fig. 1 – a) The S. Giovanni – Addolorata Healthcare Complex in Rome Fig. 1 – b) The S. Giovanni hospital
Fig. 1 – a) The S. Giovanni – Addolorata Healthcare Complex in Rome. Fig. 1 – b) The S. Giovanni hospital.JPG

The whole S. Giovanni - Addolorata healthcare complex hosts about 1000 beds distributed among the various hospitals. The normal load is maintained at 90%. However, last year at the Addolorata hospital a heavy renovation stage has started that will continue for the next 18 months.

Hospital of San Giovanni in Laterano (Ospedale di S.Giovanni in Laterano)

The Hospital of San Giovanni in Laterano (Ospedali di San Giovanni in Laterano/ Ospedale del Salvatore a San Giovanni in Laterano) was founded by Innocentius III in 1204 and was extensively rebuilt by Pope Sixtus V. Pope Sixtus also wanted to build a direct route from S. Giovanni to S. Peters and had ordered the demolition of the Colosseum. Fortunately he was dissuaded from this. San Giovanni - Addolorata is still one of the main hospitals of Rome. The old ward is now used as the public reception area. Note the medieval entrance to the hospital in the street leading to the Colosseum. On the opposite side of the Piazza (Square) San Giovanni in Laterano is the Basilica of San Giovanni in Laterano.
architecture of Ospedale ( hospital) del Salvatore
This is one of the most important Roman hospitals, it continues traditions of the Hospital of Saviour (Ospedale del Salvatore) which was one of the most significant places of assistance and cure in old Rome.

It was founded in 1348 in occasion of Black Death which afflicted all of Italy. Members of religious organization SS.Salvatore del Sancta Sanctorum connected and enlarged two previous hospitals of S.Andrea and of S.Michele Arcangelo under the name Hospitalis Salvatoris. The hospital grew in direction of modern piazza S.Giovanni in Laterano in 1462 on the rests of ancient Villa di Domizia Lucilla, mother of Marcus Aurelius.

Further amplifications took place in 1580 and under Urban VIII in 1630-1636. The Hospital of Savior was widely assisted by Romans all through its history, starting from 1381 when Roman Senate granted it the 3rd part of Colosseum as a source of building material.

The Confraternity of SS.Salvatore dissolved in 1798 in the epoch of Jacobine Republic was of very remote origin and was created to take care and honour the image of the Savior exiting till now in Sancta Sanctorum which in the Middle Ages was an object of a great cult, and was considered o be the work of angels and not human-beings.

The cardinal Pietro Colonna in 1288 created conditions for the confraternity in which they could lead a big number of different activities and in particular of the hospital and medical assistance.

During the past decades the Hospital occupied all the free space around it and thus was created a big hospital city.

The S. Giovanni hospital is the main hospital of the complex that provides emergency medical care, intensive cares, hospitality, labs, diagnostic and surgical care. It provides also general services such as laundry, food preparation and delivery, personnel restaurant. It is structured in the main buildings evidenced in fig. 1 b, that are mainly dedicated to the following activities:

Address:
San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital Complex at Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano
182-278 Via di San Giovanni in Laterano (Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano)
Via Amba Aradam 8
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo-Bocca Verità-Aventino) (Roma centro)
San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital Complex at Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "81"

Phone: +390677056832, 0677051
Fax: +390677055114
E-mail: lfor...@hsangiovanni.roma.it
Web-site: http://www.hsangiovanni.roma.it/

As you visit 'San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital Complex at Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano' you may also like following articles . . .

Piazza (Square) San Giovanni in Laterano and Its Fountain

Previously the Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano (Via di S.Giovanni in Laterano) street was named " Strada maggiore o sacra o papalis" because it was used for

Fatebenefratelli Hospital (Ospedale Fatebenefratelli) of Tiber island

With the expansion of Rome, the various wooden structures of the Isola Tiberina, such as the arcades of the two bridges, were substituted by marble and masonry

Bambino Gesù Children’s Hospital (Ospedale Pediatrico Bambino Gesù)

The modern children's hospital takes its origins from the hospital for children founded in 1869 by the dukes Salviati at Conservatorio dei SS.Clemente e

Lateran Obelisk (Obelisco Lateranense) at Piazza San Giovanni

Lateran Obelisk (Obelisco Lateranense) is the oldest Egyptian obelisk in Rome, it is also the highest one: 32m without basement, 46m with the basement. It is

Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain

The Celio (Caelius) Military Hospital near the Coloseum occupies the territory of destroyed in 1888 Villa Casali. Centuries ago on this zone was a military