Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery

"Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 4th July 2011

Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery

The name of the Basilica/ Church and Monastery of Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati (Chiesa dei SS.Quattro Coronati/ Basilica dei Santi Quattro Coronati al laterano) refers to some stories about four martyrs that could be or a group of sculptors from the Roman province of Pannonia near the Danube martyred by Diocletian because of refuse to sculpture pagan divinity of Aesculapius, or a group of soldiers that refused to murder the artists, or four martyrs of Albano. The word "coronati" ("crowned") speaks for the crown that the image of a martyr receives.

entrance of SS.Quattro Coronati upper structure of SS.Quattro Coronati
For this reason the church is subject to particular devotion by stone-cutters and marble-carvers. The third-century cloister, probably defined the most evocative one marble-carvers ever left in Rome, and the Oratorio di San Silvestro that, famous for the decorations with frescoes dated C.XIII, show, among the rest, episodes from the legend of Costantino. The ensemble of buildings still shows the severe character it had during the Middle Ages, when it was used as a defensive bastion for the nearby Basilica di San Giovanni e del Patriarchio.
Monastery of Ss. Quattro Coronati
The Monastery of Ss. Quattro Coronati was built in the 4th century, but in the middle of the 9th century it was seriously restored by St Leo IV. During these works the bell-tower, the most ancient in Rome, was erected. In those times the church was much larger and the second of present courtyards made a part of the construction, as well as one side of the adjoining cloister was church's left aisle, and a present refectory of the monks was its right aisle. The reduce of the church took place in 1112-1116 when it was reconstructed by Pascal II after the fire and sack brought by Normans in 1084 in all the zone between St John Lateran and Colosseum. At the same time a fortified monastery was erected to protect the church and the territory around it.

Beneath the presbytery with the 16th century frescoes is an ancient crypt preserving the rests of the martyrs. The floor is Cosmatesque.
interior of Ss. Quattro Coronati Middle Ages charecter of SS.Quattro Coronati
In 1557 the future King of Portugal had the lacunar ceiling built, and in 1621 cardinal Giovan Garzia Mellini had the apse frescoes restored. In 1912 Antonio Munoz conducted a series of important reconstruction of the church that was in the state of degrade.

The convent hosted different great personalities of different epochs, such as different popes and Charles of Anjou, senator of Rome. In 1560 the convent passed to the sisters-Agostinians who transferred here the hospice for the girls-orphans, located before it on Isola Tiberina.
inside interior of Basilica of the Santi Quattro Coronati in Laterano. Interior polychrome stars and elements of majolica of Basilica of the Santi Quattro Coronati in Laterano
On the right of the Basilica of the Santi Quattro Coronati in Laterano (Basilica dei Santi Quattro Coronati al laterano) is a rectangular Chapel of St Sylvester built in 1246. Its vault is beautifully decorated with the polychrome stars and elements of majolica. The walls are covered with the important cycle of frescoes (13th century) representing the Stories of Constantine and pope St Sylvester. In 1570 this chapel was assigned to the confraternity of marble masons, who added a presbytery with the paintings.

The interior is the typical one of a medieval basilica, with three naves divided up by antique granite columns, with Corinthian composite capitals. The wide apse comes from the primitive church, whose middle nave was as large as the entire actual church. From the nave one moves into the gracious cloister that hosts a garden, built in 1120.

On the left side of the church is a little graceful cloister of the 13th century with a fountain of the 12th century in the middle and dimensions 15m x 10m.

Address:
Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery
Via dei Querceti (Via dei Santissimi Quattro Coronati 20)
Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano (Via di S.Giovanni in Laterano)
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)
Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "71"
Hours: Open 09:30am-12:00pm 04:30pm-06:00pm. Masses: Holidays:11:00am (summer), Weekdays:07:30am (summer), The cloister is open from 3.30pm to 6.15pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 70475427
Fax: 0039 06 77262545
Email: mona...@tin.it
Website: http://www.santiquattrocoronati.org/index_enn.htm

As you visit 'Santi (SS.) Quattro Coronati in Laterano: Basilica/ Church/ Monastery' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Basilica of San Clemente (Saint Clement) in Laterano

The original Church/ Basilica of Saint Clement in Laterano (Chiesa/ Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano) built in 385 was discovered in the end of the 19th

Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo

The Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo (Chiesa/ Basilica dei SS.Giovanni e Paolo) on the Celian Hill grew over some ancient Roman constructions

Basilica/ Church of SS. (Santi) Bonifacio e Alessio (St.Alexis)

Only in the 10th century this Basilica/ Church of SS. (Santi) Bonifacio e Alessio on the Aventine Hill built in the 4th century took the second name of S.

Basilica of St. Giovanni in Laterano (St John Lateran)

The cathedral, whose full name is: Patriarcal Arcibasilica and Cathedral of Holy Saviour, St. John the Baptist and Evangelist in Lateran (Arcibasilica Papale e

Piazza (Square) San Giovanni in Laterano and Its Fountain

Previously the Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano (Via di S.Giovanni in Laterano) street was named " Strada maggiore o sacra o papalis" because it was used for