Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge (Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino)

"Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge (Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

The present Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino (Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge) at Piazza Di Porta Portese is located much away from the place where the ancient Ponte Sublicio stood. The latter was probably the first bridge created by Romans to connect with the Etruscan river coast. The name "Sublicio" in ancient language meant "wooden". According to a legend it was the place where Orazio Coclite defended the city along against a group of Etruscan army.

Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino (Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge) at Piazza Di Porta Portese
The current bridge was built by Marcello Piacentini between 1914 and 1917 and is situated downstream of the ancient "Pons Sublicius" that dates back to the seventh century B.C. after which it is named. In fact this happened when the Etruscan king Porsena attacked Rome. While the Roman soldier Horatius Cocles stood up to the enemies, his comrades destroyed the boards. The bridge is 102 m (113 yd) long and 20 m (22 yd) wide and connects Porta Portese with the Testaccio Quarter.

Ponte Sublicio is also known as Ponte Aventino. The present Ponte Aventino was built in 1914-1917 by M.Piacentini, and it is the shortest bridge in Rome (105m x 20m).

Address:
Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge (Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino)
Ponte Fabricio
Piazza di Porta Portese (Viale di Trastevere)
00153 , Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)/ Quartiere Gianicolense (Roma West)
Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge (Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino) is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "38"

As you visit 'Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge (Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino)' you may also like following articles . . .

Ponte (Bridge) Sisto/ Aurelio/ Antonino - Bridge of Gianicolense (Janiculum)

This is an ancient Ponte Gianicolense (Bridge of Janiculum), also known as Ponte Aurelio or Ponte Antonino. It was rebuilt probably on the same piers by Sixtus

Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island

Ponte Fabricio was built in 62 b.C. by L.Fabricius curator viarum (as it is inscribed on both sides of the bridge). This is the oldest Roman bridge to have

Ponte (Bridge) Palatino

It was one of the first bridges realized for the expansion of the city which became a capital of united Italy. It was built in 1886-1991. The project belongs

Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio)

This bridge was unveiled in 1948 and served mostly for the connection of the other side of the river with the Mattatoio (Slaughter-house constructions) and

Porta Portese (Portese Gate)

This is the most recent among the gates of the walls around Rome (17th century). It was built in 1644 by Urban VIII as part of the Janiculum Walls and finished