Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio)

"Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

This bridge was unveiled in 1948 and served mostly for the connection of the other side of the river with the Mattatoio (Slaughter-house constructions) and Mercato delle carni (Market of meat), not existing anymore. That is why the bridge lost its former importance now. It is 122m long and 32 m wide.

Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio)
Ponte Testaccio connects the Tiber embankment having its same name with the Portuense Quarter through a single reinforced concrete arch. It was thefirst bridge to be inaugurated after the end of the war although the need for it had been already emphasized by the Fascist Regime that had planned to build a bridge called "Africa" connecting the Trastevere Station with the Mattatoio (Abattoir) and the Aventino Quarter. The project was assigned to Ingegner Bastianelli in 1937, but the works were stopped during the war, like many other works in that period, and resumed only in 1947, when Professor Krallwas assigned the task of rebuilding it. More about: Testaccio

Address:
Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio)
Lungotevere Testaccio
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Testaccio (Roma centro)
Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio) is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "49"

As you visit 'Testaccio Bridge (Ponte Testaccio)' you may also like following articles . . .

Testaccio Stadium (Vecchio Campo Testaccio)

Testaccio Stadium (Campo Testaccio) was a multi-use stadium in Rome, Italy. It was initially used as the stadium of A.S. Roma matches. It was replaced by

Rione Testaccio - Via Marmorata: Discover Testaccio, Walk on Monte Testaccio (Testaccio Hill)

Via Marmorata The name of the street "Marmorata" confirms the existence of a huge deposit of marbles (marmo (it.) = marble) on the coast of the river in times

Ponte (Bridge) Sisto/ Aurelio/ Antonino - Bridge of Gianicolense (Janiculum)

This is an ancient Ponte Gianicolense (Bridge of Janiculum), also known as Ponte Aurelio or Ponte Antonino. It was rebuilt probably on the same piers by Sixtus

Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge (Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino)

The present Ponte Sublicio/ Aventino (Sublicio/ Aventino Bridge) at Piazza Di Porta Portese is located much away from the place where the ancient Ponte

Ponte (Bridge) Palatino

It was one of the first bridges realized for the expansion of the city which became a capital of united Italy. It was built in 1886-1991. The project belongs