"Torre (Tower) de' Conti" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 13th May 2011
It was built over a preceding fortification in the exedra of the Forum of Vespasian in the end of the 12th century by Innocent III Conti. It was not only a private construction, but the main stronghold of the Church, as it belonged to such a family as the Conti, which gave 12 popes and 25 cardinals, and was in the center of barons' wars in the Middle Ages.
The tower is situated near Largo Corrado Ricci, at the beginning of Via Cavour. For its stateliness it was called, already in the Middle Ages "Turris Maior" or "Turris Urbis". A first strengthen nucleus was erected on the ruins of one of the exedrae of the Foro della Pace (Forum of the Peace) in 858 by Pietro dei Conti di Anagni. In 1203, some enlargement works were done by Innocenzo III dei Conti di Segni, which made the tower even more stately.
The earthquake of 1938 destroyed the greatest part of the tower, and in 1644 another collapse took place. Twice more, in 1630 and 1644, it fell down. At present it is 29 meters high.
Torre (Tower) de' Conti
Largo Corrado Ricci, Via Tor de' Conti
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano- Campidoglio-P.Venezia) (Roma centro)/ Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Torre (Tower) de' Conti is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "142"
For Free guided tour Contact:
Telephone: 06 6879376