Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre

"Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 13th May 2011

Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre

The origins of this tower are not known, as well as the origins of its name, but it could be supposed that it had something to do with some military functions or with a kind of ancient police called "milizie". The tower is in Via Quattro Novembre, in the area between the church of S. Caterina and the complex of the Mercati di Traiano.

The legend says that emperor Nero watched from here the fire of Rome enjoying it and singing sons. Nevertheless, the tower is much more recent. Its present look derives from 1227-41, when it was rebuilt by the Caetani on the basement of the guard tower incorporated in ancient Republican walls. Later it passed to the Conti, and later still to the Annibaldi. In the 16th century Vittoria Colonna, according to an advice of Michelangelo, included the tower in the convent of Dominicans, which was built beside it in 1563. The construction was several times stroke with the lightning and lost the upper floor due to a earthquake of 1348. At present it is slightly inclined, especially due to the destruction of the convent in 1924. The tower is 51meters high.

The enlargement of the adjacent Church of S. Caterian in 1628, caused further damages to the tower as reported on an inscription walled up inside the ground floor. In 1914, some restoration and consolidation works were made by A. Munow and since 1927 is part of the complex of the Mercati di Traiano (Trajan's Market) - Imperial Forum Museum (Museo dei Fori Imperiali).

Address:
Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre
Via 4 Novembre
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "140"

As you visit 'Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre' you may also like following articles . . .

Tower of Little Mill/ Monkey Tower (Torre dei Frangipane/ Scimmia/ Moletta)

This tower was also named Torre della Moletta (Tower of little Mill) because of a water mill existed here in the Middle Ages, which used the Acqua Mariana,

Torre (Tower) de' Conti

It was built over a preceding fortification in the exedra of the Forum of Vespasian in the end of the 12th century by Innocent III Conti. It was not only a

Palazzo Pignatelli & Torre Colonna Tower

Palazzo Pignatelli was built in the 17th century for the family of pope Innocent XII Pignatelli and transformed in 1880 due to construction of Via Nazionale.

Mercati di Traiano (Trajan's Market) - Imperial Forum Museum (Museo dei Fori Imperiali)

Mercati di Traiano (Trajan's Market) is part of the Forum of Traian was also projected by A.of Damascus, as a complex of nearly 150 individual shops. Here all

Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island

The tower (torre) stands on the left of Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio and behind the Basilica di San Bartolomeo all'Isola. It belonged first to the Pierleoni family